PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable To Move Windows To Second Display

Medic-5150
June 19th, 2011, 02:03 AM
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to this whole Ubuntu thing. I love it so far, but I am having some issue. I installed Ubuntu a week ago and had no problems getting anything on my second display. Sadly I had to reformat since then and I have been unable to get anything to work. My background displays on the second monitor (42" phillips TV) and the cursor will move over. However, if I try to move a video or anything else over, it just wants to dock on the ride side of my Samsung SynMaster 2053. I have activated the Nvidia driver for my Nvidia 8800GT graphics card. I went into the Nvidia X server settings and it recognises there are two screens. when I go through Ubuntu and into monitor preferences it shows one monitor and it is "unknown". Detect monitors does nothing, nor does a restart. doesn't seem to help by switching workstations either. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Andrew

BicyclerBoy
June 19th, 2011, 02:30 AM
You can not use the gnome display preference when running the nvidia driver.
Just use nvidia-settings.

The way your screens are working is normal "separate X screens" as set in nvidia-settings.
This allows completely independent resolution refresh rate (video modes) etc.
This is my preferred configuration for full screen video (on 1 screen).
You can not drag anything between screens. You can not make icons/shortcut launchers on 2nd screen (you could in 8.04).

You can direct apps to launch on either screen (can edit the launcher properties &/or run script).
Most apps stay on the screen they are launched on (via menu or terminal)..

Twinview is the other option..your desktop becomes a meta-mode of both screens video modes. This allows dragging etc..

Medic-5150
June 19th, 2011, 02:35 AM
You can not use the gnome display preference when running the nvidia driver.
Just use nvidia-settings.