PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to test microphone is working



oygle
June 17th, 2011, 05:05 AM
I have a Logitech ClearChat Stereo headset, and can hear music playing with the headset connected to the PC speakers (external Logitech).

Have setup Empathy to be able to talk to someone using Google Talk. It seems to have been setup correctly, as I can see 2 contacts in the offline list.

I don't have PulseAudio installed (I think ??), and can see only System | Preferences | Sound , which doesn't show me much.

Here are the settings at present (inboard audio card) ..



:~$ sudo aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC1200 Analog [ALC1200 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC1200 Digital [ALC1200 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
:~$
:~$ lsb_release -a && uname -r
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description: Ubuntu 10.04.2 LTS
Release: 10.04
Codename: lucid
2.6.32-32-generic
:~$
:~$ dmesg | egrep -i "sound|audio|snd"
:~$
:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf9ff8000 irq 22
:~$
:~$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
:~$
:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek 279008 1
snd_hda_intel 25805 4
snd_hda_codec 85759 2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 6924 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss 41394 0
snd_mixer_oss 16299 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 87946 4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 1782 0
snd_seq_oss 31191 0
snd_seq_midi 5829 0
snd_rawmidi 23420 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 7267 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 57481 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
snd_timer 23649 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 6888 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
snd 71283 19 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec, snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_se q_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore 8052 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 8500 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
:~$


How can I test that the microphone is working correctly please ?

Oygle

sanderj
June 17th, 2011, 06:37 AM
How can I test that the microphone is working correctly please ?



Applications -> Sound & Video -> Sound Recorder.

oygle
June 17th, 2011, 07:18 AM
I had to change the settings to get the input correct, but then it worked fine and recorded. Thanks. :)