PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless issues (No wireless firmware)

M1k3y
June 15th, 2011, 07:51 PM
I am new to ubuntu and so far I really like linux (over windows which SUCKS). I installed it using the wubi installer (I also have windows xp). The first time I booted it up I went to connect to a wireless network and no networks were up. Then I clicked on the wireless thing again and realized it said no wireless firmware. I have scoured the internet and found issues similar to mine but nobody has the same exact wireless card (Broadcom BCM 4312 802.11g/b, I figured this out by running recover and then the shell, after that I typed in the command: lspci -v | less).
Please help me
-M1k3y

StrayEddy
June 15th, 2011, 07:59 PM
Should be what you need:

http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

mikewhatever
June 15th, 2011, 08:01 PM
For BCM 4312 802.11g/b, all there is to do is plug in a cable and wait for a popup prompting to install the driver.
I nothing happens, search for bcmwl-kernel-source and install it.

M1k3y
June 15th, 2011, 09:09 PM
Should be what you need:

http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

Thanks so much.

M1k3y
June 15th, 2011, 10:16 PM
Still having issues. I didnt install it because I have no idea how to. I dont know where to put the files or the commands. I also did a bit of searching and underneath ubuntu help they had a section for this. I went into the terminal and it turns out that the adapter isnt disabled. But the wireless is. Thats literally what it said. Please help.
-M1k3y

gandaran
June 15th, 2011, 10:31 PM
Still having issues. I didnt install it because I have no idea how to. I dont know where to put the files or the commands. I also did a bit of searching and underneath ubuntu help they had a section for this. I went into the terminal and it turns out that the adapter isnt disabled. But the wireless is. Thats literally what it said. Please help.
-M1k3y