PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How Linux is so intelligent!

g_ramesh
June 14th, 2011, 07:31 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie to Linux. I have a pc with win xp / ubuntu on seperate partitions. After installing xp I had to install motherboard drivers to get all things like sound,video going. Apart from this I had to install LAN card driver , Printer driver seperately.

However after installing Linux (Ubuntu) straight away I started using the pc without the need for installing motherboard driver, LAN card or Printer driver.

Ubuntu (for that matter any Linux OS might have done the same thing) automatically detected LAN card and printer and allowed me to use them straight away. How come this is possible only in Linux! :cool:.

NightwishFan
June 14th, 2011, 07:34 AM
How come this is possible only in Linux! :cool:.
Magic.

Well really being open source allows us to include drivers for the vast majority of hardware right in the kernel. :)

3rdalbum
June 14th, 2011, 08:39 AM
However after installing Linux (Ubuntu) straight away I started using the pc without the need for installing motherboard driver, LAN card or Printer driver.

Ubuntu (for that matter any Linux OS might have done the same thing) automatically detected LAN card and printer and allowed me to use them straight away. How come this is possible only in Linux! :cool:.

Well, when you make the drivers as well as the kernel, it pretty much makes sense to distribute the drivers inside the kernel.

I've also heard that Linux kernel drivers share a lot of code with eachother - if a few different drivers all do similar things in one particular section, it will be factored out so they all call the same piece of code inside the kernel rather than all having a separate copy. In this way, Linux kernel drivers are smaller than their Windows counterparts.

slooksterpsv
June 14th, 2011, 08:59 AM