PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No System menu at top of screen

Rosscopico
June 12th, 2011, 06:02 PM
Hi everyone, Im very new to Linux and am working my way thru the Ubuntu pocket guide.
On page 18 of the guide, the author is explaining about the menu options, ie:- System --> Preferences --> Appearance.
However, the menu that appears at the top of my desktop only has File Edit View Places Help.
No System drop down menu, I have gone thru the menu options available to me, but no System.
I have seen screenshots where ppl do have System menu at the top.
Pls help me!!

Rosscopico
June 12th, 2011, 06:02 PM
I forgot to add, that Im using Ubuntu 10.10

Rocket2DMn
June 12th, 2011, 06:12 PM
It sounds like you're actually using 11.04. Go to Help->Ubuntu Help from your menu and see if it says that you're using 11.04.

Rosscopico
June 12th, 2011, 06:19 PM
Look like youre right, its saying 11.04
I managed to find a terminal command line that I copied & pasted earlier that said I had 10.10?
Very confused!

Does 11.04 not have the system menu?

GWBouge
June 12th, 2011, 07:09 PM
Yes and no ... everything is still there, they just moved it around a little with the Unity interface.

So, instead of System -> Preferences -> Appearance in your example, you could:

1) On the Unity Bar, click the + 'Applications', then expand the top-right 'All Applications' and click 'Themes and Tweaks', expand the middle 'Installed' section and you should see Appearance

2) Press the Super key (the 'Windows' key ... between Ctrl and Alt) and type 'System' (or even just 'sys') and you can select 'System Settings'.

3) Press the Super key and just type 'appea' and 'Appearance' should show up.

Frogs Hair
June 12th, 2011, 07:13 PM
11.04 has the menus you describe if you login to Classic Gnome . When the greeter box appears at log in , select your user name and and from the session list below on the panel select Classic Gnome . Continue to login.

Muskegman
June 12th, 2011, 07:36 PM