PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] From video camera to a subtitled short movie online

Mariane
May 31st, 2011, 09:12 PM
There is certainly more than one way to do it, but the method I relate here is guaranteed to have functioned at least once under Ubuntu 10.10. It is not a detailed "HowTo" - I am no expert, this is my first attempt at video editing. But I hope it can still help people by putting together information I often had to search for piece by piece.

To start with I used dvgrab to copy the files from the video camera to the computer:

sudo dvgrab -f hdv tryvideo

There are ways to get dvgrab to function without running it as root but you have to fiddle. The port is called something like ieee raw1934, the camera knows nothing about giving file permissions to your Ubuntu user name... It works harmlessly as root, if you want to fiddle best of luck to you.

dvgrab created several files called tryvideo001.m2t, tryvideo002.m2t, etc. They could be played back with vlc. But they could not be opened by kdenlive for video editing, so I used avidemux to convert them to .avi. First conversion. Kdenlive allows you to stick the pieces back together again, to select the parts you want to keep very precisely, to add a sound track (i.e. music), etc. Hint: if you want to have music during one part of the video and the original sound (i.e. talk) on another, you can add the 2 pieces of video on 2 different lines of kdenlive. You can mute a whole line (little button at the left of the line), which can contain several pieces of video, but you cannot mute one piece among many on the same line. The first 3 lines are for video, the bottom 2 lines are for sound.

Kdenlive did not have the options I wanted for sound editing, so I used 3 programs: mplayer, audacity and mencoder.

mplayer extracts the sound file from the video:

mplayer -vo null -ao pcm:file=sound.wav inputvideofile.avi