PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is there a fix for the Musicbrainz fiasco?



stchman
May 28th, 2011, 11:49 PM
Has anyone found a fix for it?

karrank%
May 31st, 2011, 05:16 AM
I just discovered this too.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1763064

Bug reports filed via Launchpad.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/sound-juicer/+bug/788921

and here.

http://tickets.musicbrainz.org/browse/MBS-2249

stchman
June 1st, 2011, 08:00 PM
I have read that many are aware of the problem, yes.

Here's a what if, what of Musicbrainz goes away? Are all Ubuntu users that use Rhythmbox, SoundJuicer, and Banshee SOL?

I would like to see a way to input another online database.

stchman
June 1st, 2011, 08:04 PM
I tried using Banshee (the latest version using the Banshee PPA) and it suffers from this as well.

karrank%
June 3rd, 2011, 01:15 AM
I tried using Banshee (the latest version using the Banshee PPA) and it suffers from this as well.

Rats, that's the next thing I was gonna do. Is Musicbainz the only cd database?

I mean, are there other rippers around that use a different cd-lookup system?

stchman
June 3rd, 2011, 11:26 PM
Rats, that's the next thing I was gonna do. Is Musicbainz the only cd database?

I mean, are there other rippers around that use a different cd-lookup system?

There is RipperX, which you can specify a different server.

I get not so good sounding .mp3 files when I use RipperX.

If anyone can suggest optimum settings for RipperX then please do.

My thing about having only Musicbrainz is what if Musicbrainz goes belly-up? Since there is no way to specify a CD database in Rhythmbox, Sound Juicer, or Banshee, what would happen?

karrank%
June 4th, 2011, 02:02 AM
There is RipperX, which you can specify a different server.

I get not so good sounding .mp3 files when I use RipperX.

If anyone can suggest optimum settings for RipperX then please do.

My thing about having only Musicbrainz is what if Musicbrainz goes belly-up? Since there is no way to specify a CD database in Rhythmbox, Sound Juicer, or Banshee, what would happen?

I think we're seeing what would happen.

And....

time to go install RipperX and see what happens....

mc4man
June 4th, 2011, 02:40 AM
Here's a what if, what of Musicbrainz goes away?
Then you'll need to do what you're doing now, wait for upstream to fix or use a different ripper
(use abcde ansd or RubyRipper here, both are more useful rippers and don't need/use MB

As far as banshee the issue was a bit different and has been seemingly fixed
http://git.gnome.org/browse/banshee/commit/?id=ee467bdc
Applied the commit here and banshee is fine, hopefully you'll see in a banshee ppa soon if not already

Bertrand Lorentz [banshee developer] 2011-05-28 14:49:29 UTC

This problem has been fixed in our software repository. The fix will go into
the next software release.

karrank%
June 7th, 2011, 01:50 PM
I just discovered this too.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1763064

Bug reports filed via Launchpad.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/sound-juicer/+bug/788921

and here.

http://tickets.musicbrainz.org/browse/MBS-2249

I've experimented briefly with the "fix" in post # 5 of launchpad bug #455461 (#788921 was just a dup) https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/sound-juicer/+bug/455461 and so far, working just fine --until Canonical, Ubuntu, or Musicbrainz resolve this, I imagine this is a good temp. fix. Try it and let me know if you agree.