PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Database software

IAsolutions
May 27th, 2011, 09:57 PM
I'm working in a personal project and I'm a begginer. I need some ideas for a software that I can use to develope a very simple database.

I have basic knowledge in html, c/c++

if there is something graphic would be great.

I'm working with ubuntu 11.04 and have access to a pc (just in case)

thanks for your help.

r-senior
May 27th, 2011, 10:01 PM
Would MySQL be too big for your project?

Has GUI administrator and query tools. Also runs on Windows and databases can easily be exported/imported between the two.

JupiterV2
May 27th, 2011, 10:09 PM
Just to be clear...are you designing a database, or you need to utilize one?

If you need to utilize one, SQLite is fantastic. Light and simple to use. If you want a client/server interface, then PostgreSQL or MySQL might be what you want.

If you are trying to design one, that gets more complicated. Are you just wanting to know what IDE, editor or compiler to use?

MBybee
May 27th, 2011, 10:12 PM
Just to be clear...are you designing a database, or you need to utilize one?

If you need to utilize one, SQLite is fantastic. Light and simple to use. If you want a client/server interface, then PostgreSQL or MySQL might be what you want.

If you are trying to design one, that gets more complicated. Are you just wanting to know what IDE, editor or compiler to use?

Extra votes for SQLite. This is my go-to DB for little stuff. It's only real issue is concurrency. It has none :)

Firefox has a nice plugin to get a GUI for SQLite, btw.

juancarlospaco
May 28th, 2011, 12:10 AM
SQLite

IAsolutions
May 28th, 2011, 04:10 AM
SQLite sounds like is the option for now but basically I was looking for what editor/ compiler to use.

unknownPoster
May 28th, 2011, 08:21 AM
SQLite sounds like is the option for now but basically I was looking for what editor/ compiler to use.