PDA

View Full Version : C++ problem

rpmp
May 24th, 2011, 01:59 AM
Hello first of all im new here.

i been tryng to learn C++ and im practicing making program like Hello world but when i write what says my tutorial and hit save all it does is the letters change colors am i doing something cause im new to C++ so im not so sure if im doin it right?

jamesjenner
May 24th, 2011, 02:22 AM
Hello first of all im new here.

i been tryng to learn C++ and im practicing making program like Hello world but when i write what says my tutorial and hit save all it does is the letters change colors am i doing something cause im new to C++ so im not so sure if im doin it right?

G'day mate,

First we need to know a couple of things. Could you please tell us the following:

What's the url for your tutorial?
Are you doing this under Windows or Linux?
If under Linux, what are you using to edit the program, is it at the command line via vi or via a graphical text editor or maybe via an IDE (Integrated Development Environment, eg Eclipse)?

I suspect your problem is that all your doing is saving the program but your not compiling it and running it. Even if you are running it, most hello world programs just output to the standard text device which means under Linux you wouldn't see anything, under windows you'd see the command window flick up and disappear very fast.

Cheers,

James

rpmp
May 24th, 2011, 02:35 AM
i dont know what you mean by url but im using ubuntu 11.04 (Natty Narwal) and im using text editor and im not sure how to compile it and run it.

cgroza
May 24th, 2011, 02:50 AM
Install Code Blocks from the software center.
Open a terminal and do:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

This will install the C++ compiler.
Open your file with Code Blocks and there is a button in the toolbar which says Build and Run.
Press it, and you should have your program running.

Now,