PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 64bit don't love RAID??

newto_linux
May 14th, 2011, 08:39 PM
hello to all users! i have got the issue in the title of the thread.

i want to install ubuntu, but ubuntu won't to install on a RAID0 hardware config.

the problem seems is the bootloader that can't be striped and the swap partition too. at the end of installation ubuntu said me that the bootloader can't be installed on the location (the striped partion). i tried on dev/sda and on the other partitions (/boot /var /root ecc).

still have the problem.

how can i resolve it? any suggestion? i am pretty new to linux, please explain me slowly :)

):P

MAFoElffen
May 14th, 2011, 10:52 PM
hello to all users! i have got the issue in the title of the thread.

i want to install ubuntu, but ubuntu won't to install on a RAID0 hardware config.

the problem seems is the bootloader that can't be striped and the swap partition too. at the end of installation ubuntu said me that the bootloader can't be installed on the location (the striped partion). i tried on dev/sda and on the other partitions (/boot /var /root ecc).

still have the problem.

how can i resolve it? any suggestion? i am pretty new to linux, please explain me slowly :)

):P
1. Is this Hardware Raid (on what hardware) or Software RAID?
2. How are you trying to do this? Across drives or partitions?

I don't have a lot of experience with this, but I was going to play with installing concurrent RAID arrays on one (single) server-- this afternoon anyway. And no-one else looked like they helped you yet.

MAFoElffen
May 15th, 2011, 03:28 AM
I had no luck on installing grub to software RAID0. The file defs are in the second part of grub2 image file and have to be read to be able read a raid. This is not just an 11.04 problem. It's an all grub problem, at least as RAID0 goes.