PDA

View Full Version : good tutorial for making GUI's in C++?

u-noob-tu
May 13th, 2011, 12:46 PM
ive been teaching myself C++ for about 4 months now, but ive hit a wall. the problem is that i have no money due to the lack of a job, so i can neither buy books on C++ nor go to a class. until now i have relied on free tutorials online, converting web pages into PDF's so i can take them on the road. i havent been able to find a good tutorial on creating an actual interface for a program, like a GUI, something i could interact with. i use Anjuta IDE to write my programs (fantastic IDE), which has a glade interface plugin, but i dont know how to use it. any tips and suggestions will be much appreciated.

TeoBigusGeekus
May 13th, 2011, 02:19 PM
See this (http://developer.gnome.org/gtkmm-tutorial/2.99/).

nvteighen
May 13th, 2011, 05:26 PM
In essence, what you use is a library that gives you the required tools to create a GUI if some graphical display is available. This is valid for all major OSes.

In GNU/Linux, as usual, we've got several options (freedom!). The two "Big ones" are GTK+ and Qt. GTK+ is natively a C library, but it has official bindings for several languages; the C++ one is called Gtkmm. Qt is natively a C++ library, also with official bindings for several languages (except C, for obvious reasons).

There's no important advantage of one with respect to the other, actually. They both follow their own respective philosophy, but none is "better" than the other when doing GUIs. The only huge difference between GTK+ and Qt is that Qt also includes a lot of features not related to GUI programming, but for general C++ programming because this library was created before the C++ STL. Most of those features are now unnecessary, as people just go with the STL.