PDA

View Full Version : Where do developers store their project files?

crunchytheory
May 6th, 2011, 06:51 PM
I'm relatively new to Linux and have recently taken a job as a kernel hacker. Tall order, yes, so I've got some learnin' to do!

One thing I'm struggling with is where to keep all my "stuff". I'm the kind of person that needs to be completely organized and have a special place for everything.

I've got project files, miscellaneous useful shell scripts (like removing spaces from filenames), project documentation, test applications for project development, etc. All the usual stuff a software developer would have. So my question is, where do other developers usually keep everything?

A fresh install of Ubuntu already has a directory for Music, Pictures, etc. but of course it doesn't have a directory structure set up for developers as everyone has different needs.

If this has been discussed before, please give me a link. But honestly, I had no idea what keywords to search for.

Thanks!

r-senior
May 6th, 2011, 08:26 PM
Traditionally, personal shell scripts go in your ~/bin directory which you add to your path. Personal code libraries (for C at least) go in ~/lib and header files in ~/include. In other words, mirroring the filesystem hierarchy standard.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Filesystem_hierarchy_standard

You could follow on that theme, depends a lot on what you are developing. For me that's as far as I take it.

All my development projects go under ~/Development, sub-divided by language and then project. Documentation tends to go in my ~/Dropbox folder because I sometimes need to access it from a web browser if I am working away, or it might go in ~/Documents. Any local software (e.g. web application servers) I put under ~/Software. Java libraries go into a Maven repository on my server, Java code goes into a Subversion repository and gets rebuilt automatically with Hudson.