PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ethernet suddently stopped working for no apparent reason



randizzle
May 4th, 2011, 06:03 PM
I am using Ubuntu 10.04

For no apparent reason that I can determine I came to my workstation this AM and found that my ethernet is no longer working.

I rebooted and noted that my /etc/resolv.conf was now empty.

I have two machines connected to the same router (the other is OS X) and that machine is experiencing no problems.

When I boot the netspeed applet shows that I am disconnected, but when I check the preferences, I see that it is showing the status of the vboxnet0 interface (I am not even sure what that is).

Here is the results of ifconfig -a



eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:c6:86:ef:f1
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2228 (2.2 KB) TX bytes:2228 (2.2 KB)

vboxnet0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 0a:00:27:00:00:00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



.. and here is the contents of /etc/init.d/networking



auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


Any help would be greatly appreciated.

randizzle
May 4th, 2011, 09:13 PM
I am not sure how it was removed but I had back to add to the end of my interfaces file:

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Iowan
May 5th, 2011, 12:21 AM
I'm not familiar with vboxnet0 either.
Check the settings in Network Manager... The lines you added to the interfaces file are doing what NM should - in olden days, NM wouldn't touch an interface defined in /etc/network/interfaces.