PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] vodafone payg usb stick not working in 11.04

clivewilliamson
May 3rd, 2011, 11:48 AM
I have a Vodafone (UK) PAYG USB stick (Huawei K3565 v2) which worked perfectly out of the box in 10.10. I also installed Betavine Connection Manager but never actually needed it.

Since upgrading to 11.04 the stick won't connect. When I plug it in I get a green flashing light then a blue one but it never registers with Connection Manager. Nothing I can do tweaking the settings seems to make it work either. BCM doesn't work at all though I appreciate that's another issue).

Can anyone give me any pointers please, and I should mention that I'm an almost complete novice with Ubuntu.

Thanks

alexfish
May 3rd, 2011, 04:27 PM
Hi

BCM will replace modem-manger with its own version (wadercore)

may not be compatible with 11.04.

for now will have to see device is recognised

open up a terminal and post the results of

usb-devices

also suggest downloading sakis3g . it does a lot more than just connect

Sakis3G - All-in-one script (http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sakis3g.org%2F&rct=j&q=sakis3g&ei=vRzATYvsHcfX8gPx1Pi3BQ&usg=AFQjCNFR0OA7GJQY3djYswddHkMjARyyDw&cad=rja)

alexfish

clivewilliamson
May 3rd, 2011, 07:50 PM
Thanks for the reply Alex. When putting in the usb-devices I got the answer as follows (actually there were several others but this seemed the relevant one):

T: Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 8 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=12d1 ProdID=1003 Rev=00.00
S: Manufacturer=HUAWEI Technology
S: Product=HUAWEI Mobile
C: #Ifs= 4 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=500mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
I: If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
I: If#= 2 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
I: If#= 3 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage