PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Huawei Mobile Broadband on 10.4 LTS

SLIREAND
May 2nd, 2011, 05:57 PM
I am new to Linux. I have recently installed the Ubuntu 11.4 LTS Distro that comes with the Haynes Linux Manual (which I heartily recommend to new users).

For the Internet I have a Huawei E1550 dongle on the 3 network in the UK which I'm currently using with Windows XP on my desktop to post this thread.

After some initial fumbling, I'm unable to use the dongle with Ubuntu.

Can any fellow user advise me with the installation?

Many thanks in advance of your replies.

IPEX-731BA5DD06
May 3rd, 2011, 01:27 AM
I've got the same provider and mobile brand, but in Australia.

Basically similar procedure.

Right click on the wireless icon in the top right hand corner, it'll open up a page with selections. Choose edit connections.

5 tab selection opens up, choose mobile broadband.

Now you either have a selection for mobile, choose edit for that, or add new service.

follow through the selections, ie country, provider, plan, and it should connect.

This is assuming that you have service to connect too. (huge problem in Australia, with 3 and Vodafone merging)

It should automatically connect now. Choose the options, connect automatically, etc and it'll just load up on booting assuming you have service.

P.S. don't worry about the tag that say's "never used", I use mine every day, and it still says that

SLIREAND
May 3rd, 2011, 02:32 PM
Thank you, IPEX-731BA5DD06, for your response.

This follows the advice given in the Haynes Manual. Unfortunately, the dongle is still not recognised and I am still at a loss as to how to proceed.

Have you any further suggestions?

Thanks again.

alexfish
May 5th, 2011, 11:53 AM
Hi

just to note

Huawei Mobile Broadband on 10.4 LTSI am new to Linux. I have recently installed the Ubuntu 11.4 LTS Distro can confirm which version installed.

can open up a terminal