PDA

View Full Version : Open source web application development.

ProgramErgoSum
May 1st, 2011, 04:50 AM
Hi,
I would like to know, if you are a open source developer, then what would be your choice of framework to develop and deploy web applications following a work-flow ?

The answer would most likely be : it depends. :) I had been searching around quite a bit and the choices are either too many or do not seem to be 'complete'. For example, Apache Turbine (http://turbine.apache.org/index.html) refers to some projects which are retired, closed, etc.

I am looking at applications that cater to say banking. An application to open new accounts, debit/credit, etc.

WitchCraft
May 1st, 2011, 09:41 AM
It depends ;-))

First, I'm not an OpenSource developer, and second, I work in a Windows-only company (although being a Linux-user myself).

So my choice is pretty obvious: Use C#/VB.NET/mono10.10/XSP4/nginx so I can reuse at home the code I write/steal from daily work.

You basically have the following choices:
1. Perl via CGI/FastCGI
2. Python + Django
3. PHP + MySQL
4. mono + XSP
5. Ruby on Rails
6. Cold Fusion
7. Java
8. Anything I don't know of or have deemed too unimportant to mention
Important things first: I don't know anything about Ruby.

Perl via CGI/FastCGI is a phase-out model, first because it uses CGI, second because Perl code is pretty unmaintainable, and third because the entire concept is quite insecure.

Python + Django if you aspire working at Google (my choice when I develop Linux only).

PHP + MySQL if you want to profit from tons of already working code.
I personally would say that PHP is more mature than ASP.NET when it comes to web development.
On the other hand, security issues are rampant, which is a problem because Windows-using corporations won't use it because there is no system-wide update for security issues (and a lots of other issues, thank to MS for that...).