PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I have no wirless after update to 11.04 please help

Funbob235
April 30th, 2011, 01:26 AM
Ok, I'm green behind the ears and dont know much about the whole computer thing, but what I do know is that I did the whole update and no I have no wireless at all. I had to hook a cable straight to my lab top to get on the Internet.

I am running a Dell Inspiron E1705.

I did the update from the update manager screen that pops up when updates are avaible. CAN SOMEONE HELP, but put it in simple words because again I'm still new to the using Linux. Thanks:)

Bobby-

TBABill
April 30th, 2011, 01:43 AM
Plug into ethernet, click the upper left global icon, search for additional drivers in the search box, click it and then enable the proper driver for your device.

This assumes you need a proprietary driver and since it's a Dell it is very likely a Broadcom device. If you paste back here the output from typing
lspci into a terminal we can know for sure what you need.

Funbob235
April 30th, 2011, 01:55 AM
I did the lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)