PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Samsung R60 plus - ATI Radeon Xpress 1250

Tenshar
April 20th, 2011, 12:13 AM
Hello, my name is Jonathan Singer,
I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and Linux itself, so far, I have to say I'm impressed by the freedom and stability it gives you compared to Windows Vista, the only problem I'm having is finding the appropriate driver for my graphics card (ATI Radeon Xpress 1250), I am aware that the proprietary driver is no longer supported since February 2009, I know that there are dozens of threads like this already on these forums, although most of them are quiet old and contain dead links or outdated information which have not worked for me, I've been looking around for about 1-2 weeks, which is when I first installed Ubuntu 10.10 Desktop Edition, I have just re-installed the same version of Ubuntu and fully updated, I have installed no extra software since then.

From what I read, Ubuntu comes with the open source ATI drivers, the only trouble I'm getting is the graphics distortion in 3D games, for example, in Neverwinter Nights (Role Playing Game), the server selection menu and the in-game menu is always flickering, making it very hard to see, and the in-game colours are also flickering between mostly white and the colours that it's actually supposed to show, but the speed and frame-rate is normal.

Another game I've tried is AssaultCube (First Person Shooter), downloaded from the Software Center, it runs at a good speed, colours are normal too, but the weapons, walls, etc, are flickering between visible and invisible, which is very annoying as it is very hard to see anything that way.

If any more information is needed, just leave a reply, if you know what is causing this or have the solution, please let me know, I'm desperate to get this working as I really don't want to go back to Windows.
Thanks in advance,
Jonathan

jquis8411
April 20th, 2011, 06:11 AM