PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] small [how to] extend desktop ati 4500



wmb
April 14th, 2011, 05:03 AM
I saw some old threads online where people were having problems extending their display. (For me) It was as simple as:

Turn on and hook up your external monitor.

System -> Preferences -> ATI Catalyst Control Center (Administrative)


On the left, under Pages I saw: this (click) (http://i.imgur.com/pY41W.png)
Welcome
Information
Color
+Display Manager
Display Options
+3D
PowerPlay
Preferences

I clicked (http://i.imgur.com/ETsw4.png) "Display Manager"

I then had something that looked like a laptop (with a 1) and a separate monitor (with a 2).

When I say (with a 1), it's labeling your monitors 1 & 2.

Below that I saw:
Display Properties and Multi-Display

I clicked (http://i.imgur.com/zbxzP.png)the separate monitor (with a 2), and then Multi-Display. There was no reason to change any options for my current display that looked like a laptop (with a 1).

Under Multi-Display (separate monitor (with a 2)) I clicked: "Cloned display from display(s) 1".

My four options were: (http://i.imgur.com/RNbTI.png)
"Disabled display"
"Single display desktop (multi-desktop)"
"Cloned display from display(s) 1"
"Multi-display desktop with display(s) 1" <-------- I selected this.

And restarted my computer. Tada. Hopefully this will save people from installing 3rd party drivers. I just wanted an extended desktop to use so i didn't have to switch "windows" to compile when working on my projects. Good luck.

http://i.imgur.com/pY41W.png
http://i.imgur.com/ETsw4.png
http://i.imgur.com/zbxzP.png
http://i.imgur.com/RNbTI.png

Dell Laptop Studio 1555 Linux Ubuntu 10.10 extend desktop external monitor ATI Radeon Mobility 4500

Good luck :)

I know this isn't hard for most people, I just saw that people were having trouble with it and figured I would post a quick tutorial.

Syndaryl
July 28th, 2011, 04:37 PM
Thank you WMB, found your tutorial and it's quite helpful - but I have a question of course. Lo these many months later.

Catalyst makes me restart, and then when I boot up again... it's switched to "Cloned display from display(s)", where everything is duplicated on the two screens. Which would be useful for presentations or co-op games but not so much for getting more workspace :(

Any ideas? Or anyone else?

dn
January 12th, 2013, 07:04 PM
@wmb, awesome tutorial :)

currently, I am using 12.04 and one extra step is required to get the multiple display working. After you have restarted the computer, go to

system settings - > Displays

untick the mirror displays checkbox, click Apply and Viola! ;)