PDA

View Full Version : Want to learn..but what first?

cbspace
April 13th, 2011, 05:10 AM
Hello all!

So, I'm looking to learn several languages since I'd like to become a Web developer and system administrator - mainly for Web servers and networking.

I used to be a Web designer, HTML/CSS are second nature to me and I'm a novice with JavaScript.

So, I know I need to learn Bash, Perl, CGI and Python, and I'm already trying (albeit slowly) to learn JavaScript further (and jQuery) and PHP.

Reason I'm doing the switch from front-end design to back-end / system development is because of sight issues (I've had sight issues all my life, and it's on a decline) but I still want to stay in computing, since, that's all I know!

So where should I start?
Suggestions for books, tutorials, videos, etc would be a great help and ideas for small projects would be great too, since I'm going to need something to work towards and keep me motivated.

Anything you got is appreciated!

(I currently use Quanta Plus, and looking to purchase Zend Studio, so any applications I need, please let me know!)

Many thanks
Craig

Some Penguin
April 13th, 2011, 05:12 AM
Start with the sticky threads.

cbspace
April 13th, 2011, 05:18 AM
Woops! Must of scrolled past the Guides sticky! Thanks!

BkkBonanza
April 13th, 2011, 05:21 AM
Move PHP to the head of the list.

PHP, JS, HTML, CSS form the core of most web programming today - at least on the bulk of linux based systems. Windows and corporate enterprise are different but you're on this forum so I assume you're more Linux centric.

I would learn by doing. Start a good sized project and develop it solving all the issues by using the PHP online manual. It's all in there and their is heaps of user added notes at the bottom of each page. You don't need any commercial products for any of this, including books - it's all online and free. Whenever you're stumped google the words associated with the problem and look for ideas.

cbspace