PDA

View Full Version : to use an ide or not to use one

TinyXP
April 4th, 2011, 05:39 PM
Hi,

I'm a php programmer and I usually develop on linux platforms using gedit. I've accomplished fairly complicated projects with gedit and little trouble at all. Never really needed anything beyond gedit with the syntax highlight, matching braces, support for file browsing etc.

I've never used an IDE extensively in my life, just because I've always believed that they tend to over complicate simple things. It makes the learning curve harder because you waste time trying to learn the IDE than doing any real coding.

But lately, I'm seeing all these jobs that expect you to be comfortable with an IDE like eclipse or netbeans. And now I might actually think about using an IDE.

What do you guys think about using IDE's ? Are they worth it or an overkill ?

Caboose885
April 4th, 2011, 05:54 PM
It all depends on the programmer.

I personally like using an IDE when I'm first learning the programming language. I find more of the tutorials use IDEs so I follow them by using the same IDE. IDEs help with finding errors too...

Once I get comfortable with the language though (like python) I will just open up a new file in gedit or vim and little scripts that way.

IDEs do have a purpose and are very useful at times but they aren't always necessary.

~Caboose

doas777
April 4th, 2011, 06:05 PM
an IDE is a tool, so like any tool, learning how to use it is critical. while it is a failing to not be able to perform many tasks manually (relying too much on tools) it is also an equal failing to not use them when they are called for.

I knew a guy once, who believe all anyone needed was a copy of notepad and a jdk. he was probably a more skilled coder than I was, but i got all the praise from management because I got my stuff done on time, and could teach the junior developers how to use the tools.