PDA

View Full Version : Assembly

amiller2571
March 6th, 2011, 02:03 AM
I'm currently in a assembly class for Windows. The teacher is having us write directly to video memory on cmd. The reason is that he wants us to learn to printer characters to the screen the hard way. In order to do this we have to put cmd into real mode, other wise we could not access the memory. My question is how would I go about doing this in Linux? I would like to learn how to write directly to the terminal's memory.

Queue29
March 6th, 2011, 02:57 AM
Huh? I'm no expert in Windows, but I'm pretty sure there are quite a few layers of abstraction between the cmd and writing to memory... What exactly is it you are doing?

cgroza
March 6th, 2011, 03:24 AM
I'm currently in a assembly class for Windows. The teacher is having us write directly to video memory on cmd. The reason is that he wants us to learn to printer characters to the screen the hard way. In order to do this we have to put cmd into real mode, other wise we could not access the memory. My question is how would I go about doing this in Linux? I would like to learn how to write directly to the terminal's memory.
Do you need to open stdout in assembly and push characters there??

amiller2571
March 6th, 2011, 04:05 AM
I am new to assembly so I don't know the correct terms to use, Here is one of the programs I wrote for the class.

MyStack SEGMENT STACK

DW 256 DUP (?)

ENDS

;----------------------------------------------------------------------
MyData SEGMENT

CRTMemSeg EQU 0B800h ; Segment for video RAM
ESCKEY EQU 27

ENDS
MyCode SEGMENT
ASSUME CS:MyCode, DS:MyData
StartHere:

MOV AX, MyData
MOV DS, AX

MOV AX, CRTMemSeg ; Move video segment address into AX
MOV ES, AX ; Move AX into ES so that ES points to video segment

MOV CX, 2000 ; Moves 2000 into CX, use to loop throw the video segment
MOV BX, 0 ; Move 0 into BX

ClearScreenLoop: ; loop to fill as video segment spaces with black background and blank text