PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Live USB persistent settings problem

ayushkumar
March 5th, 2011, 10:55 AM
Hi
I am new to ubuntu 10.10. Actually to linux too. I used universal usb installer to use my 4GB FAT32 usb as a boot device instead of the Livecd. I dont exactly remember how much persistent space I allotted to the usb. I think it was around 2GB. Upon booting into Ubuntu I ran the synaptic package manager , marked all updates and applied it. It required around 328 MB for update. After everything was downloaded it started applying the updates. But halfway through it gave an error -"No space left on device". So I want to know how much persistent space to use on the USB. I basically want to know what the persistent settings mean. The updates were downloaded where ? To the OS or the USB..? I don't want to store any documents or media to my usb. I just want ubuntu to remember my settings and to have applications with which I can play media (from my OS). What happens to the left over space which I have not converted into persistent storage..?

Will using an 8GB usb solve this problem. How much persistent settings should I create on it so that it satisfies the above mentioned requirements. I want to dedicate this usb solely to ubuntu.

Also, I wanted to know whether it is possible to install ubuntu on an external hard disk (Seagate freeagent) like it can be installed on usb.,?
Thank you in advance..

maqtanim
March 5th, 2011, 11:05 AM
Once the installation is complete there is no need of a USB anymore. It is installed into your hard drive. So you can eject the USB drive after installation and can boot/use Ubuntu without that USB drive.