PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Not sure the best way to do this in Python

raf-kig
March 3rd, 2011, 09:43 PM
The following code snippet is to evaluate all possible 5-card poker hands from a simulated deck of cards. If there's a more optimum way of coding it I would appreciate some help because this one is S-L-O-W. Thanks. (Needless to say I'm a Python noob.)

deck = range(1,53)
hand = range(5)
for k in range(0, 48):
hand[0]=deck[k]
for k in range(1, 49):
hand[1]=deck[k]
for k in range(2, 50):
hand[2]=deck[k]
for k in range(3, 51):
hand[3]=deck[k]
for k in range(4, 52):
hand[4]=deck[k]
# evaluate the hand here

NovaAesa
March 3rd, 2011, 11:03 PM
There are only 52 C 5 possible hands (2,598,960). At the moment you are checking 52 P 5 hands (311,875,200). While both ways are doable with a brute force attack, using combinations rather than permutations will make things quicker.

I would suggest taking a look at combinations() in itertools:
http://docs.python.org/library/itertools.html#itertools.combinations

DaithiF
March 3rd, 2011, 11:10 PM
well there are 254 million permutations, so if you're going to evaluate each its going to take time!

NovaAesa
March 3rd, 2011, 11:23 PM
well there are 254 million permutations, so if you're going to evaluate each its going to take time!

You're right, it will take a while but it's still doable if it only has to be computed as a one off.

To the OP, if you have to do stuff in real time e.g. as part of a tool to assist while playing poker you might want to look into Monte Carlo simulations as an alternative.

LemursDontExist
March 3rd, 2011, 11:33 PM
Assuming the calculation you're performing is of any complexity at all, you're going to need to seriously reduce the number of computations you're doing. As NovaAesa noted, order doesn't matter in a poker hand, so you're better off looking at combinations rather than permutations - but I doubt that'll be enough.