PDA

View Full Version : amd kernel



dzon65
March 2nd, 2011, 09:08 AM
Did this minimal squeeze install on a amd rig. Small question. How come that when using the 2.6.32-5-amd kernel,the cpu goes up twice compared to the default 2.6.32-5-686 kernel with the nouveau driver? (Going from 60Mb idle to 120b idle.)
Oh, and, how can I delete the not-in-use kernels in the grub menu when there's no menulist in /boot/grub ?

el_koraco
March 2nd, 2011, 01:53 PM
you can go to synaptic and look for linux-image-2, then remove. repeat the procedure for linux-headers.

dzon65
March 2nd, 2011, 03:30 PM
Linux-image-2?

dzon65
March 2nd, 2011, 03:47 PM
Second part ( grubmenu) solved. Grub2, duh. To do it, upgrade the /etc/default/grub file