PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] how to fix broadcom wifi adapter to work!

jettaknight
March 1st, 2011, 05:58 AM
OK, I am a complete novice when it comes to anything linux. I am somewhat familiar with Windows, I can get around and am not afraid of trying things beneath the surface. But I am also not a programmer by any means. I would really, really like to try kubuntu or ubuntu on my new asus 1015pem netbook. I did successfully install kubuntu onto a usb stick and was able to boot the netbook into kubuntu. I am writing this in firefox within kubuntu on wired connection. However, I have spent hours trying to find out/figure out how to fix the dang drivers so that the broadcom 4313 wireless will work. I've stumbled through websites, files, programs within kubuntu, tried everything I can imagine and get nowhere. When I do stumble on "packages" and they somehow start to install, there are inevitable errors. I just want to get the wireless to work so I can learn to use kubuntu! CAN ANYONE give me straight forward steps to install the correct drivers in a non-technical language. It seems that the instructions I do find always contain words or instructions that the writer assumes everyone understands or is familiar with. I am about ready to throw in the towel. I sincerely appreciate any help you can offer.:confused::confused::confused:

zenwalker
March 1st, 2011, 05:58 AM
Just search this forum for broadcom wireless. Youll get alot of threads. Just follows those to solve. Its simple!

jettaknight
March 1st, 2011, 06:54 AM