PDA

View Full Version : Curiosity - a makefile for system backup, advice?

copb.phoenix
February 28th, 2011, 10:50 AM
Hi all!

Being one of those people keen to the "bleeding edge", but not one with much RAM to run virtual machines inside of, I find myself usually about every 6 months with a broken system. Desiring a fully portable and reasonable way to transfer data from installation to installation (and between virtual machines later), I opted to zip files with a Makefile.

It looks like this, and has only had an hour of research into it. I'm new to Make, but this functions fine for me:

###############################
# Experimental backup makefile

# Variable declarations

# folders to backup
bootD = /boot/
DesktopD = ~/Desktop/
diaD = ~/.dia/
DocumentsD = ~/Documents/
DownloadsD = ~/Downloads/
mozillaD = ~/.mozilla/
ProgsD = ~/Progs/
sysLogsD = /var/log/
TemplatesD = ~/Templates/

# files to deliberately exclude
DownloadsX = *.iso

# files to output
bootO = ./root/boot
DesktopO = ./root/home/Desktop
diaO = ./root/home/.dia
DocumentsO = ./root/home/Documents
DownloadsO = ./root/home/Downloads
mozillaO = ./root/home/.mozilla
ProgsO = ./root/home/Progs
sysLogsO = ./root/var/log
TemplatesO = ./root/home/Templates

# programs to use
zipP = zip

# program flags
zipF = -porX --filesync --log-append --log-info --logfile-path ./logs/zip.txt
zipFX = --exclude

# shebang requirements
shebangR = boot Desktop dia Documents Downloads mozilla Progs sysLogs Templates
# Declare Phony Targets
.PHONY: shebang

# Targets ~ eg, files to backup
boot:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(bootO) $(bootD)
Desktop:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(DesktopO) $(DesktopD)
dia:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(diaO) $(diaD)
Documents:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(DocumentsO) $(DocumentsD)
Downloads:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(DownloadsO) $(DownloadsD) $(zipFX) $(DownloadsX)
mozilla:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(mozillaO) $(mozillaD)
Progs:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(ProgsO) $(ProgsD)
sysLogs:
$(zipP) $(zipF) $(sysLogsO) $(sysLogsD)
Templates: