PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] noob: install ubuntu to drive J?

now0pen
February 27th, 2011, 11:41 PM
I know a few basic troubleshooting (know how to search google for answers), but I am a total newbie with regards to ubuntu. My PC specs (I bought PC ~2008 )-- MS windows vista basic home edition; AMD athlon 64 processor 3600+; 1.0GB RAM; ATI Radeon 1250; 1TB external hard drive.

Here are the drives on my PC:

http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/3047/mycomputerlm.jpg

I don't know what my drives H, G and H are for. Drive J is a 1TB external hard drive that I purchased a few months back. It connects to my PC via USB port at the back. (I have proprietary software in drive J that uses PostgresSQL that I use with my other poker software.)

I have tried installing ubuntu using WUBI over the weekend just to see how it goes, but found that too slow to use in the long term. I am now considering installing Dual boot vista and ubuntu on my PC.

Here are my questions:

- I don't have a windows Vista recovery CD in case anything goes wrong. Can I go ahead and install ubuntu without one?
- when you say back up my files, does that mean I make copies of docs, pics, mp3, etc to a USB stick?
- can i install ubuntu on drive J? If so do I follow this installation prodedure (http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download) (http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download) or something else?
- do I have to partition drive J beforehand or can i just go ahead with the installation process (wasn't there an option for this during install)?
- if i was able to install ubuntu on drive J (external hard drive), and I have a second PC, can I just connect the external hard drive on the second PC and run ubuntu? or do I have to do another dual boot install with the second PC?

Thanks for helping!

- jim

grahammechanical
February 27th, 2011, 11:58 PM
Lots of questions. I would like to comment on some of them.