PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Install Issue: Menus Populated with blank white box

metafunction
February 27th, 2011, 10:37 PM
Just installed Ubuntu 10.10 Netbook on my Dell Vostro 1000.

Install seemed to go through ok, although I am not connected to the internet. When the install completes, I have the default background image and er... that's it.

Around the edge where the menu should be, the background image is slightly darker. If I move the mouse to where the menu items should be, rather than what I assume would be a text label/description of that menu item, I get a blank white box instead. If I click, some of the applications do indeed open, albeit without titlebars.

I am new to Linux, I decided that it should be about right for me to make the switch, but encountering such an issue so early on isn't inspiring me with much confidence.

I have access to this Windows machine for downloading and burning CD/DVDs. I also have a WD Passport drive (150Gb) and a USB stick (1Gb).

I really would like to give Ubuntu a fair test.

quixote
March 1st, 2011, 01:54 AM
I really would like to give Ubuntu a fair test.Good for you! :mrgreen:

Somehow or other, even though your install seemed to go okay, it didn't. It's missing major components of the desktop*. Troubleshooting that sort of thing is a nightmare, and only worth doing if otherwise you'll lose vital data. Since I assume you haven't actually been able to use the system, and so there's no data to lose, the simplest solution is to try a reinstall. I'd suggest a new download and a new burn of the CD or liveUSB, just in case the problem was with the install media.

You may also want to try the "Long term support" version, 10.04 (http://releases.ubuntu.com/lucid/), instead, just in case there's some incompatibility between your system and 10.10.