Whizard72
February 26th, 2011, 08:55 PM
I have an Acer Aspire 7741Z-4433 with:

Intel Pentium P6200 CPU
Intel HD Graphics.
1.3MP Webcam
4GB RAM
etc.

Everything works, I mean EVERYTHING works great under Linux and Ubuntu specifically. However, the one issue I have is that the screen brightness stays at a constant full-brightness.

When I use the FN-<LEFT> or <RIGHT> arrow keys, the brightness indicator in Ubuntu comes up and indicates the change but the actual brightness of the screen does not change..?

I'm not a newbie to Linux at all, I've been around more than a few years but this problem has me stumped. I bought this laptop specifically to run Linux and thought I was careful in choosing one with an Intel chipset in it.

Investigating the /proc/acpi filesystem didn't seem to yield anything that could be changed or was relevant.

The fact that Ubuntu recognizes the keyboard input and shows the brightness change indicator should mean the OS is getting the proper keyboard signals for the brightness change okay but the brightness mechanism isn't getting the signal I would suppose.

Note: I did compile the latest 2.6.37.1 kernel in hopes of a positive change to this behavior to no avail.

At this point, I need ideas.

Whizard72
February 27th, 2011, 07:13 AM
There's gotta be some ideas out there for things to try. I have not been successful so far.

panosV16
March 6th, 2011, 07:19 PM
I have the same problem.

Tried this
http://askubuntu.com/questions/21523/screen-brightness-not-changing-on-acer-5742-notebook
but it didn't work for me.

panosV16
March 6th, 2011, 08:38 PM
Found a solution! I have an Acer Aspire 7745G but it must be similar to yours since it's the same series.
I followed this http://ubuntu-ky.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1636959 guide up to a point.
Meaning i just installed the packages from that repo and brightness adjustment works both with keys (FN + arrow left-right) and from the bar in the taskbar.