PDA

View Full Version : Creating a Live USB Stick with lightest Possible version of ubuntu.

jeetendra.choudhary
February 26th, 2011, 06:44 PM
Hi All,

The idea is to create a plug and play Operating system Usb Disk in which one can work and store the data as well. Means the host system will provide the RAM and Processor to work and all the storage will be of the guest Operating system.

I know this idea is one of the old experiments but my point is how stable it is for regular work I mean is it possible that i can work in such setup for one project (ya i am a developer and project means mid size development project which will require all sort of development tools like eclips, java sdk and so on and on..) and after each such project I'll do the necessary clean-up.

Which ubuntu version i should use (means in which i'll get more stability and support if required, same should be the lightest and smallest too.)

What and all software should be used in order to comply with the requirement and system stability.

Any suggestions and solution would be great help.

Thanks & Regards
Jeetendra

sikander3786
February 26th, 2011, 07:01 PM
I think you might find this easier.

http://ubuntu4beginners.blogspot.com/2011/02/portable-ubuntu-persistent-usb-using.html

jeetendra.choudhary
February 27th, 2011, 06:24 PM
Hi Sikander,

Thanks for your reply its helpful but my requirement is slightly different.

1. I don't want to use Vbox as i don't want to use any of the feature of the host system in such case it doesn't seems like good idea to use a windows system and Vbox inside that.

2. If i will use Vbox the host system will consume the RAM lets say half of it if the host system will have 2 gb of RAM then guest system can use only 1GB which will not be sufficient for development related work.

Is there any idea to boot the system directly from the USB and use it as a host OS so that the guest OS can use all available system resources fully.

Thanks & Regards
Jeetendra

sikander3786