PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Questions about Linux in general

Infiniti359
February 25th, 2011, 08:37 PM
Hello all, It's my first post, and first real venture into Linux, so please go easy on me :P

I was mainly looking to have a few questions answered if possible.

I have ZERO experience with Linux, beyond basic navigation on a free Live CD
The only real question I would like a simple honest answer to is this (below)

I've heard that Linux can access Fat32 file systems and was told if I wanted to make use of my current data (NTFS drives) I should create a Fat32 partition, and copy my data to it. BUT we all know of the 4GB file size limit Fat32 has, so it becomes a bit pointless If i needed to download a 5GB ISO or larger, right?

So my question is: Is there a Linux distro or a way to install to NTFS OR make them visible to a Linux install?
I'm NOT totally clear on the many file systems involved with Linux, like /dev/hda1 or Hpfs etc. I'm sorry to say I've been spoiled by windows for many years now, NTFS/FAT32.

Bonus questions:
Are there any good DVD/CD data backup burning tools on Linux?
How good is Wine? Can it really make use of many windows programs/games?
I know this is a Ubuntu based forum, and please don't bite my head off for asking this but are there any other distro's you can suggest? Mainly to see what else is on offer...

Many thanks in advance

Simian Man
February 25th, 2011, 08:43 PM
So my question is: Is there a Linux distro or a way to install to NTFS OR make them visible to a Linux install?
I'm NOT totally clear on the many file systems involved with Linux, like /dev/hda1 or Hpfs etc. I'm sorry to say I've been spoiled by windows for many years now, NTFS/FAT32.
Linux has been able to access NTFS just fine for years now. No worries :).

Are there any good DVD/CD data backup burning tools on Linux?
I use K3B which works well.