PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Please help me fix my audio?

hey-you
February 25th, 2011, 05:26 AM
Hello,

I'm starting a new thread because I can't find anyone else with the same problem that I have. It seems that while trying to fix choppy sound in my Virtual Box Windows 7 guest I have messed up my computer. I guess I followed someone's advice that didn't really apply to my situation and now I have no sound at all, and Sound is gone from my Preferences menu.

When I type aplay -l in terminal under 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01) there are no Kernel drivers or kernel modules listed.

I'm using Ubuntu 10.10.

Can someone please tell me what to do to fix it? I'm not very experienced in this and would appreciate detailed instructions.

Thank you!

oldos2er
February 25th, 2011, 06:52 PM
What exactly was the advice you followed? Not easy to advise you without knowing what you did.

corncob
February 25th, 2011, 11:17 PM
What exactly was the advice you followed? Not easy to advise you without knowing what you did.

Is the tutorial at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449 of any help?

hey-you
February 26th, 2011, 01:17 AM
I followed this tutorial through the ALSA driver Compilation step which failed. Here is the log.

for i in control postinst postrm ; do \
│ if [ -f debian/$i.orig ]; then \
│ mv -f debian/$i.orig debian/$i ; \
│ fi ; \
│ done
│ rm -f control-munge
│ make mrproper
│ make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/modules/alsa-driver'
│ rm -f .depend *.o snd.map*
│ rm -f modules/*.o modules/*.ko
│ make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/modules/alsa-driver/include'
│ rm -f .depend core *.o sndversions.h modules/*.ver modules/*.stamp
│ make -C sound clean
│ make[3]: Entering directory `/usr/src/modules/alsa-driver/include/sound'
│ rm -f *.h