PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 32 bit/ 64 bit installation problem



CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 11:33 AM
Hi, I have just installed Ubuntu 64 bit version from 2 CDs successively (one a download from the Ubuntu official source (Karmic Koala 9.10)) and one free with Ubuntu User magazine (10.10) (claiming to be 64 bit) but neither shows up all 4 Gb of my RAM, they both still only showed 3.1 Gb.
Please, does anyone know why this didn't work? I have an Asus motherboard (P5L-VM1394)and dual-core Intel E2200 processor.

Now I just have to get my netgear wireless card installed and working again!

Grenage
February 18th, 2011, 11:56 AM
The 4GB should be available in the x64 release. From the terminal:


uname -a

What does it say?

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 12:36 PM
Check under your Bios and make sure all of your 4 GB RAM is being detected properly there. Might be one of the modules ran bad? Or it is not seated properly into the memory bank?

Aside from that, even if you install 32-bit Ubuntu and it detects RAM > 3 GB, it would automatically install the PAE Kernel for supporting all of your RAM. So thats not the issue I think.

Outputs of these command might also help us.


sudo lshw
free -m

3Miro
February 18th, 2011, 05:47 PM
This is an older motherboard, probably doesn't have memory remapping enabled by default. Look into your BIOS setup for the proper settings.

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 07:16 PM
Thankyou that is very helpful, I will post the information shortly.
However might I mention I cannot and never have been able to unlock the bios? None of the normal key combinations work!

(Apologies for multiple post below!)

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 07:35 PM
The 4GB should be available in the x64 release. From the terminal:


uname -a

What does it say?

Linux chris-desktop 2.6.31-14-generic #48-Ubuntu SMP Fri Oct 16 14:05:01 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux

..and the further question:


Re: 32 bit/ 64 bit installation problem
Check under your Bios and make sure all of your 4 GB RAM is being detected properly there. Might be one of the modules ran bad? Or it is not seated properly into the memory bank?

Aside from that, even if you install 32-bit Ubuntu and it detects RAM > 3 GB, it would automatically install the PAE Kernel for supporting all of your RAM. So thats not the issue I think.

Outputs of these command might also help us.

Code:

sudo lshw
free -m

Result is (and I assume you only require the first part of this as it looks awefully long,):-

description: Desktop Computer
product: System Product Name
vendor: System manufacturer
version: System Version
serial: System Serial Number
width: 64 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.4 dmi-2.4 vsyscall64 vsyscall32
configuration: boot=normal chassis=desktop uuid=409D11B0-3C83-DB11-96E5-0018F3213FFD
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: P5L-VM 1394
vendor: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
physical id: 0
version: Rev 1.xx
serial: MB-1234567890
slot: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
physical id: 0
version: 0201 (09/05/2006)
size: 64KiB
capacity: 448KiB
capabilities: isa pci pnp apm upgrade shadowing escd cdboot bootselect socketedrom edd int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer int10video acpi usb ls120boot zipboot biosbootspecification
*-cpu
description: CPU
product: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz
serial: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
slot: LGA 775
size: 1200MHz
capacity: 3800MHz
width: 64 bits
clock: 200MHz
capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall x86-64 constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm cpufreq
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: 5
slot: L1-Cache
size: 32KiB
capacity: 32KiB
capabilities: pipeline-burst internal varies data
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: 6
slot: L2-Cache
size: 1MiB
capacity: 1MiB
capabilities: pipeline-burst internal varies instruction
*-memory
description: System Memory
physical id: 35
slot: System board or motherboard
size: 4GiB
*-bank:0
description: DIMM SDRAM Synchronous
product: PartNum0
vendor: Manufacturer0
physical id: 0
serial: SerNum0
slot: DIMM0
size: 1GiB
width: 64 bits
*-bank:1
description: DIMM SDRAM Synchronous
product: PartNum1
vendor: Manufacturer1
physical id: 1
serial: SerNum1
slot: DIMM1
size: 1GiB
width: 64 bits
*-bank:2
description: DIMM SDRAM Synchronous
product: PartNum2
vendor: Manufacturer2
physical id: 2
serial: SerNum2
slot: DIMM2
size: 1GiB
width: 64 bits
*-bank:3
description: DIMM SDRAM Synchronous
product: PartNum3
vendor: Manufacturer3
physical id: 3
serial: SerNum3
slot: DIMM3
size: 1GiB
width: 64 bits

?
Thanks.

PRC09
February 18th, 2011, 07:43 PM
From the spec sheet of your motherboard.....




* Due to general PC architecture, a small amount of memory is reserved for system usage and thus the actual memory size is less than the stated amount.

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 08:24 PM
You are running 64bit Kernel and whole of your memory is detected here.


*-memory
description: System Memory
physical id: 35
slot: System board or motherboard
size: 4GiB

And system reserves some memory, some but not 900 MB of it. I couldn't find the output of this one in your above post.


free -m

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 08:27 PM
Here it is:

total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 3145 873 2271 0 79 202
-/+ buffers/cache: 590 2554
Swap: 3906 0 3906

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 08:32 PM
Ok I can see the output now.

Which graphics card is there? Motherboard integrated one? Are you sharing your memory with your graphics card?

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 08:47 PM
I've got an nVidia 8400 GS 256 Mb graphics card but, by the way, the hardware updater doesn't seem to recognise it. (unless in Ubuntu 64 bit it runs as native, which I doubt!)

PRC09
February 18th, 2011, 08:51 PM
In regards to the memory from the Asus manual........I personally have seen the system use 1.2 gb for its own use......



If you installed total 4GB memory, the system will detect less than 4GB of total memory because of address space allocation for other critical functions, such as:

- System BIOS (including motherboard, add-on cards, etc..)
- Motherboards resources
- Memory mapped I/O
- configuration for AGP/PCI-Ex/PCI
- Other memory allocations for PCI devices

Different onboard devices and different add-on cards (devices) will result of different total memory size.
e.g. more PCI cards installed will require more memory resources, resulting of less memory free for other uses.

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 08:51 PM
I've got an nVidia 8400 GS 256 Mb graphics card but, by the way, the hardware updater doesn't seem to recognise it. (unless in Ubuntu 64 bit it runs as native, which I doubt!)
What is the output of this command.


lspci | grep VGA

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 08:53 PM
In regards to the memory from the Asus manual........I personally have seen the system use 1.2 gb for its own use......
Might be.... I haven't seen a case like that neither experinced it myself. It would be such a great loss of memory then.

My system just eats up 55MB of RAM as I've got 2 GB.



total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 1945 1115 830 0 85 430

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 09:03 PM
output is:

04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 10c3 (rev a2)

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 09:11 PM
You have connected your monitor to the 256MB one or the motherboard integrated one?

I don't remember many commands to find out more about your graphics card but I doubt if it is your graphics card actually eating up some shared memory. You can look under Bios settings and see how much RAM has been assigned.

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 09:15 PM
Thanks, I am honoured by your assistance.
However I cannot get into the BIOS sytem, it remains hopelessly locked despite all my desparately pressing appropriate keys whilst system is booting.

I also do not think my hard drive is properly mounted.

P.S. Sorry monitor is connected by video card

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 09:19 PM
You are most Welcome :-)


I also do not think my hard drive is properly mounted.

I can try to help with this one. What you mean by the statement? Any error messages or missing partitions or what?

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 09:28 PM
There is a funny "squidge-ing" noise from the hard-drive when the computer reboots.
And an Intel CPU code loading error on the very first splash screen when it boots.
I think I am going to take it back into the shop where I bought it because there is also a problem with Windows on the other partition.

sikander3786
February 18th, 2011, 09:37 PM
Hard drive noises are not good at all. Most of the time they mean that the drive is failing.

CPU code loading error might go away with a Bios upgrade I think.

If it is in warranty period, it'd be better to get it checked by the professionals.

Hope your issues will be fixed soon.

CJ_Hudson
February 18th, 2011, 09:41 PM
Thankyou sikander3786.

CJ_Hudson
February 27th, 2011, 06:02 PM
Any chance someone could give me a hand getting the video driver for the 8400 Nvidicard working>
I have drawn a blank after extensive reasearch, there seems to be nothing about getting this card working in 64 bit Ubuntu and it doesn't automatically install from -> System -> Administration -> Windows Wireless Drivers?

Sorry to multiple post!