PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04 Update Manager Freezes



mn_voyageur
February 17th, 2011, 06:31 AM
I have installed Ubuntu on a new machine. However, Every time I try to run Update Manager, it freezes.

I have over 100 security updates to install and it won't work.

I appreciate the help.

Thanks,
MarkN

PunkLV
February 17th, 2011, 07:57 AM
Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

mn_voyageur
February 17th, 2011, 01:58 PM
From "Do you want to continue [Y/n]?"
Get: 1 http//security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/main Linux-image-2.6.32-24-generic 2.6.32-24.43 [31.4MB]
4% [1 linux image-2.6.32-24-generic 8,393kB/31.4MB 26%] 97.5kB/s 28min 47s

Since it is locked up, I must reboot.

Hippytaff
February 17th, 2011, 02:00 PM
From "Do you want to continue [Y/n]?"
Get: 1 http//security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/main Linux-image-2.6.32-24-generic 2.6.32-24.43 [31.4MB]
4% [1 linux image-2.6.32-24-generic 8,393kB/31.4MB 26%] 97.5kB/s 28min 47s

Since it is locked up, I must reboot.

can you post the output from a terminal of
sudo cat /etc/apt/sources.list

mn_voyageur
February 17th, 2011, 02:12 PM
sudo cat /etc/apt/sources.list

# deb cdrom:[Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS _Lucid Lynx_ - Release amd64 (20100816.1)]/ lucid main restricted
# See http://help.ubuntu.com/community/UpgradeNotes for how to upgrade to
# newer versions of the distribution.

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid main

## Major bug fix updates produced after the final release of the
## distribution.

## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
## team. Also, please note that software in universe WILL NOT receive any
## review or updates from the Ubuntu security team.

## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
## team, and may not be under a free licence. Please satisfy yourself as to
## your rights to use the software. Also, please note that software in
## multiverse WILL NOT receive any review or updates from the Ubuntu
## security team.

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'backports'
## repository.
## N.B. software from this repository may not have been tested as
## extensively as that contained in the main release, although it includes
## newer versions of some applications which may provide useful features.
## Also, please note that software in backports WILL NOT receive any review
## or updates from the Ubuntu security team.
# deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-backports main restricted universe multiverse

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from Canonical's
## 'partner' repository.
## This software is not part of Ubuntu, but is offered by Canonical and the
## respective vendors as a service to Ubuntu users.
# deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu lucid partner
# deb-src http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu lucid partner

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu lucid-security main

mn_voyageur
February 17th, 2011, 02:19 PM
I need to leave for work. I will check back in 12 hours.

Thanks,
MarkN

Hippytaff
February 17th, 2011, 02:26 PM
I'll have to doublr check this with my source.list when I get home from work, but I think you should have


deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu (http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu) lucid-security main and
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ (http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/) lucid main
in there too

Maybe someone else can clarify this in the mean time!?

PunkLV
February 17th, 2011, 02:36 PM
If in terminal something goes obviosly wrong or freezes press: Ctrl+C. Breaks any current operation.
And as far as I can tell, everything is fine, your DL speed is low though. You just have to wait. Or did 4% [1 linux image-2.6.32-24-generic 8,393kB/31.4MB 26%] 97.5kB/s 28min 47s actually had 'frozen'?


###### Ubuntu Main Repos
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick main restricted universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick main restricted universe

###### Ubuntu Update Repos
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-security main restricted universe
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-updates main restricted universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-security main restricted universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-updates main restricted universe

###### Ubuntu Partner Repo
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu maverick partner
deb-src http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu maverick partner


This works.

Hippytaff
February 17th, 2011, 02:46 PM
If in terminal something goes obviosly wrong or freezes press: Ctrl+C. Breaks any current operation.
And as far as I can tell, everything is fine, your DL speed is low though. You just have to wait. Or did 4% [1 linux image-2.6.32-24-generic 8,393kB/31.4MB 26%] 97.5kB/s 28min 47s actually had 'frozen'?


deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ natty main restricted universe multiverse

deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ natty main restricted universe multiverse

deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu natty/updates main

Will check them in a moment.

Your using Natty?

The op shouldn't add this to their sources.list :-) just though I'd mention that, but the deb-src bit is missing from thier soures.list. Maybe this is the problem

PunkLV
February 17th, 2011, 03:02 PM
Your using Natty?
No I'm not. Debian built from scratch. Although Natty updates would be nice to have, so not to DL the whole update when upgrade time comes. At least thats how I manage myself.

Hippytaff
February 17th, 2011, 03:04 PM
No I'm not. Debian built from scratch. Although Natty updates would be nice to have, so not to DL the whole update when upgrade time comes. At least thats how I manage myself.

Ah...risky-ish, but interesting.

mn_voyageur
February 18th, 2011, 03:20 AM
Well, I am making progress. My problem must be with the GUI.

Ctl+Alt+F2 took me to the command line.

Ran sudo apt-get update
Ran sudo apt-get upgrade

So far, I have not locked up.

MarkN

Update:
Moving to command line, not a Terminal Screen, and running update and upgrade installed the 100+ packages that were required.

Now, I have six files to upgrade.

Both Update Manager and Synaptic lock-up when attempting to install these six upgrades.

If I open a terminal screen and run apt-get update & apt-get upgrade, the message says:
The following packages have been kept back:
Linux-generic Linux-headers-generic Linux-image-generic
0 upgraded, o newly installed, 0 to remove and 3 not upgraded

So, if Upgrade Manager, Synaptic, nor the command line will upgrade the packages, what other options do I have.

Thanks,
MarkN

mn_voyageur
February 18th, 2011, 04:10 AM
I think I found the problem.

My system locked up. I decided to try Ctl+Alt+F2.

The screen is scrolling the following:
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(0)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(1)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(2)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(3)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(4)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(5)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(6)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(7)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(8) <-What? This should be an "8".
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(9)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(10)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(12)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(13)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(15)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(0)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(1)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(2)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(3)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(4)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(5)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(6)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(7)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(8)<-What? This should be an "8".
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(9)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(10)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(12)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(13)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(15)
[ 817.#####] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to schedule IB !

The 817 numbers increase, but not sequentially.

Any ideas as to what is going on?

MarkN

PunkLV
February 18th, 2011, 04:10 AM
Well this is odd.
Try this. Output should provide some info which will help to proceed.


sudo apt-get install gcc gcc-4.3 gcc-4.4 g++ linux-headers-`uname -r`

Oh. You have the ATI video card?

mn_voyageur
February 18th, 2011, 04:21 AM
Video card is an older card from another machine.

What does the video card have to do with "drm:radeon_ib_schedule"?

MarkN

mn_voyageur
February 18th, 2011, 04:25 AM
"gcc is already the newest version."

I am running in Ctl+Alt+F2. I don't have problems in text mode, for some reason.

MarkN

PunkLV
February 18th, 2011, 04:40 AM
What does the video card have to do with "drm:radeon_ib_schedule"?
As the error msgs seem to be a maverick ATI videocard bug, at least thats what google tells. I've never dealt with them, so you'll have to wait for other replys probably.

mn_voyageur
February 18th, 2011, 05:43 AM
I'll see if we have a spare card that I can borrow from work tomorrow.

Thanks for the help.

I'll be sure to post the result.

MarkN

Hippytaff
February 18th, 2011, 01:30 PM
I had fun with an ATI card when I was installing Arch

ATI Graphics Cards


ATI owners have two options for drivers (in addition to the vesa driver):

The open source radeon driver provided by the xf86-video-ati package. See the radeon feature matrix (http://wiki.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature) for details.
The proprietary fglrx driver provided by the catalyst (http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?O=0&K=catalyst&do_Search=Go) package. It supports only newer devices (HD2xxx and newer). It was once a package offered by Arch in the extra repository, but as of March 2009, official support has been dropped because of dissatisfaction with the quality and speed of development of the proprietary driver. See ATI Catalyst (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ATI_Catalyst) for more information.
I installed the radeon driver.

mn_voyageur
February 19th, 2011, 03:07 AM
Okay. I am trying to install the driver now. The video card I borrowed was a newer ATI.

Any suggestions on a replacement card? I do not require heavy graphics. I play with CAD a bit, but nothing else.

MarkN

Hippytaff
February 19th, 2011, 09:05 PM
If you don't want anything super powerful for gaming or 3d shinanegans then I would suggest staying away from Nvidia. This catalog (http://www.ubuntu.com/certification/catalog)has a list of compatible (ubuntu supported hardware)

mn_voyageur
February 21st, 2011, 12:05 AM
Well, I bought a new video card. (Radeon HD 5750)

It cleared up the freezing problems.

No problems installing the driver or configuring the software.

Yes, the card was overkill, but this box is a big experiment. It is my first non-MS machine.

I appreciate the help.

Thanks,
MarkN

Hippytaff
February 21st, 2011, 01:13 PM
Your welcome - Glad you sorted it. Happy non-MS'ing

CadetD
May 12th, 2011, 01:30 AM
I don't have the luxury of getting a new card :(

I am getting the same errors but on 11.04.
Had to recompile a kernel to get 10.04 working (too many issues to list). But am at my wits end with this.

My video card is ATI Radeon X1950 Pro
After a week of fiddling with the blank screen, then frozen screen, booted with "nomodset text", started X which partially loaded the screen, then CTR+ALT+F1 back to console, to see the FB errors.

Is there anywhere I can get drivers for that card?
Next action: Dust off (gasp) Windows 7 DVD (after 8 years with Linux)

mn_voyageur
May 12th, 2011, 03:25 AM
I am not an expert on video cards ... That being said, I expect that your video card is dead.

I say this because the video cards that I borrowed were know to be defective out of the companies Windows machines. My friend told me that he knew the cards were bad, but since I just asked if he had cards I could "try" on my system, he did not realize that I was troubleshooting a video problem.

You really need a known good video card. If you have a friend that will let you troubleshoot with theirs, I would start there.

I expect that if you load Windows, you will still have a video problem.

Let me know how things work out.

MarkN