PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] install packages inside the cloud instances



selvawithcommunity
February 16th, 2011, 05:27 PM
hi my frineds,

by your help i successfully setup the private cloud and i can login in to the cloud instances as ubuntu user..

now i want to run the simple web application called compiler on the cloud instances..

so i need to run the apache server inside the cloud instance(ubuntu 10.04 server).. i downloaded ubuntu image from ubuntu store.(this is not GUI. fully command orineted)

questions:

1. in the cloud image there is no apache server(lamp server) available. and i try to download from the tasksel using apt-get method.. but apt-get method not working for me. how to make apt-get metod working? when i am trying the apt-get method it shows as:
ubuntu@ip-172-19-1-2:~$ sudo tasksel install lamp-server
sudo: unable to resolve host ip-172-19-1-2
tasksel: aptitude failed (100)

2. actually my instances ip i allocated is 10.1.7.105. but it shows the ip address is 172.19.1.2. so how to access apache server using ip address whether 10.1.7.105 or 172.19.1.2?

3. i cannot ping the ip address 10.1.7.105( where the cloud instances is running.) from the ip 10.1.7.104(node controller running) but inside the cloud instance i can ping the ip address 10.1.7.1(proxy server) and 10.1.7.103(CC,CLC,SC is running ) and 10.1.7.104(node controller is running) . what i have to do?

INFORMATION:

my proxy server IP:10.1.7.1
a. my cloudcontroller,cluster controller, storage controller run on the IP:10.1.7.103

b. my node controller running on the IP:10.1.7.104 (here i can use apt-get method to download package by specifying the proxy setting in the SYSTEM->ADMINSTRATION->NETWORK PROXY)

c. my cloud instances(this UBUNTU SERVER is not having GUI. fully command orineted) running on the IP:10.1.7.105?

d. i am Put the following into your /etc/bash.bashrc file. eventhough apt-get not working.
export http_proxy=http://10.1.7.1:8080/

e. i opened the ports 22,23,80 using the following commands:
euca-authorize default -P tcp -p 22 -s 0.0.0.0/0
euca-authorize default -P tcp -p 23 -s 0.0.0.0/0
euca-authorize default -P tcp -p 80 -s 0.0.0.0/0

f. my netstat command output

ubuntu@ip-172-19-1-2:~$ netstat -a
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN
tcp 0 48 172.19.1.2:ssh 10.1.7.104:42796 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 [::]:ssh [::]:* LISTEN
udp 0 0 *:bootpc *:*
Active UNIX domain sockets (servers and established)
Proto RefCnt Flags Type State I-Node Path
unix 2 [ ACC ] STREAM LISTENING 1038 @/com/ubuntu/upstart
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 1144 @/org/kernel/udev/udevd
unix 2 [ ACC ] STREAM LISTENING 2456 /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket
unix 4 [ ] DGRAM 2784 /dev/log
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 3638
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 3273
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 3272
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2873 /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2872
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2848 /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2847
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2835 /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2834
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 2833
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2475 /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2474
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2461
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2460
unix 3 [ ] DGRAM 1147
unix 3 [ ] DGRAM 1146
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 1127 @/com/ubuntu/upstart
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 1126



ubuntu@ip-172-19-1-2:~$ netstat -ta
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN
tcp 0 48 172.19.1.2:ssh 10.1.7.104:42796 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 [::]:ssh [::]:* LISTEN



ubuntu@ip-172-19-1-2:~$ netstat -r
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
172.19.1.0 * 255.255.255.224 U 0 0 0 eth0
default 172.19.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

g. MY ifconfig output is

ubuntu@ip-172-19-1-2:~$ ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr d0:0d:4a:24:08:7d
inet addr:172.19.1.2 Bcast:172.19.1.31 Mask:255.255.255.224
inet6 addr: fe80::d20d:4aff:fe24:87d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6705 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:575 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:666166 (666.1 KB) TX bytes:76640 (76.6 KB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:108 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:108 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8360 (8.3 KB) TX bytes:8360 (8.3 KB)

h. my network interface /etc/network/interfaces containg

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
help me frineds. thank you...

Rusty au Lait
February 17th, 2011, 02:05 AM
Here's my $0.02,
Ignore the 172.19.1.0 network.

You are not using a bridge. Good or bad? I don't know. I do not work with a proxy. What Eucalyptus network node are you using? (System, static, managed, or novlan)

At the very least, from the CLC (.103) if you get a ping response from the NC server (.104) then you should be able to get a ping response from the instance (.105). The instance may not respond to pinging.

Can you ping yahoo.com (or any outside server) from the instance?

When you do get apache loaded into your instance you will access it through the 10.1.7.105 IP address.

Why do you set your instances's ip address so close to your servers? You should use a range of ip's seperate from your servers ip range. What will the second NC server's address be? What will the second instances's ip address be?

I believe all your instances's ip traffic still goes through the CL server (.104). Are your iptables setup?

Ciao

kim0
February 17th, 2011, 09:24 AM
Indeed I think all traffic goes thru CLC, so you need to setup iptables for masquerading

selvawithcommunity
February 17th, 2011, 06:47 PM
i am using MANAGED-NO VLAN and
i didn't setup any iptables for masquerading.

raymdt
February 18th, 2011, 08:57 PM
Hi,
we have already resolved this issue here. Please use the search function to find the Post.

It is something like


echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
sudo iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
sudo iptables --table nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE