PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need AGP Nvidia video card

Jon Anderson
February 15th, 2011, 08:25 PM
I need a AGP Nvidia video card that has drivers that will load automatically in Ubuntu 10.10. I'm new to linux, my video card is freezing, so I need a new video card and it has to be simple to set up and cheap, did I say cheap? yes I did. Someone said Nvidia 5XXX and some people said 6XXX and above. I don't need much of a card just one that is simple to set up.

jerrrys
February 16th, 2011, 09:28 PM
lots of cheap agp cards here

http://computers.shop.ebay.com/Graphics-Video-Cards-/3762/i.html?Interface=AGP%7CAGP%2520%252F%2520PCI%7CAGP %25202x%7CAGP%25204x%7CAGP%25208x%7CAGP%2520Pro%7C AGP%2520Pro%25208x&rt=nc&Chipset%2520Manufacturer=NVIDIA&_catref=1&_dmpt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&_fln=1&_ssov=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m282

http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?cx=006238239194895611142%3Au-ocqbntw_o&cof=FORID%3A9&ie=UTF-8&q=agp&as_qdr=all&sa=Google+Search&lang=en#894

BicyclerBoy
February 17th, 2011, 01:11 AM
As this is a Multimedia & Video forum...

There is no AGP video card that supports VDPAU.
There are PCI video cards for the PCI interface.

8400GS PCI with 512MB
9400GT PCI 512MB
9500GT PCI 512MB

TV OTA DVB-T H264 1080i is okay with the 8400GS card using simple (1x temporal) de-interlacing filter.

Spend real money on this card & it is wasted..get a new mobo..

At least a PCI video card can still be used in a (most) modern mobos.

No HDMI interface, no digital audio.
AFAIK PCI will struggle to display HD1080i without VDPAU.

Jon Anderson
February 17th, 2011, 02:05 AM