PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubutnu 10.10 will not boot from CD

Mamacia
February 15th, 2011, 08:10 PM
):P Hello. Absolute beginner here.

I downloaded Ubutnu (32 bit), burned the image, checked the hashes, and have tried numerous times to get this thing to boot from the CD. I have yet to get to the first page.

It looks like it is starting, with the purple screen, then everything goes black with the flashing white thing in the upper left corner. I have let it sit there for 10 minutes or so, but it does nothing. I have to unplug the computer and restart the stupid thing to get back into Windows.

On the last try, I held the space bar while booting, chose English, got to the start page (?) and asked to check disk integrity. Got the black screen once again.

](*,) Aarg! I forgot. When trying Wubi install, I got a "Permission Denied" message, which is in a huge log file which I can attach if needed. The last install attempt was made directly from the CD without Wubi.

How do I get Ubutnu to even come up on the screen?

And what all do you need to know about my machine?

Toshiba A665D 414 GB free space
AMD quad core processor 1.6 GHz 64 bit
Windows 7 Home Premium

I'd really like to dump Microsoft completely. I've been using OpenOffice for years (loving it) and just threw away that WindowsLive thing in favor of SeaMonkey browser/email client. Beginning to think Bill Gates is out to get me 8-[

Thanks in advance for any helpful advice. You have been very brave to have read this to the very end :)

Oh where have I gone wrong!? It began many years ago in a land far, far away.

grahammechanical
February 15th, 2011, 08:32 PM
When everything goes black except for a flashing white thing in the upper left corner, then you know that you have been dumped at a command line prompt (a DOS box in Windows speak). This is because the CD installer program was unable to determine the optimum setting for your monitor due to issues with your video card. In my opinion.