PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wondering if I can do this

homefire
February 15th, 2011, 12:09 AM
I'm not a techie, but have been intrigued by trying a non-Windows system for quite awhile. Today I tried to reformat an old XP system only to find that the original Windows discs have a couple of files corrupted, so I'm thinking of trying Ubuntu on the system instead.

The question is, Can I? It's OLD. It's a 1.8GHz Pentium 4 processor with an 80 MB hard drive, but it only has 256K of RAM.

I've found some conflicting info on whether it will run on that, so I decided to ask here for input. What do you think?

Also, reading up on it a bit, I'm finding that some people have trouble working with Ubuntu. Our kids use this machine mostly for Internet access, so it wouldn't need to have many programs on it, but we do want to be able to stream video, play games, etc. Possible?

TeoBigusGeekus
February 15th, 2011, 12:13 AM
256k? Did you mean 256mbs?

sanderd17
February 15th, 2011, 12:14 AM
You don't have enough RAM for Ubuntu, but lighter ubuntu variants like Lubuntu will work quite smooth.

About the video: it will play video, but don't expect great things from such hardware. Same for the games. Card and bord games will run without a problem, but don't try to play a 3D game.

JOHNNYG713
February 15th, 2011, 12:15 AM
If it ran xp it will run Ubuntu ! (Or should) I have an old IBM 600X 10 gig HD 512 RAM amd a coppermine P3 CPU and it runs every thing but compiz-fuzion descktop effects ! :D

matt_symes
Hi

It's OLD. It's a 1.8GHz Pentium 4 processor with an 80 MB hard drive, but it only has 256K of RAM

You don't have much ram. If you want to run Ubuntu or Kubuntu i would invest in more.

However, there are plenty of other distro's that will run with that amount of ram. If you are interested in a *buntu distro take a look at xubuntu or even lubuntu(They are both light weight).

Or take a look at DSL, slax or puppy linux. They will run fine on that machine.