PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] VB.Net app built on VS2010 possible on Ubuntu?

EccentricDyslexic
February 14th, 2011, 03:16 PM
Hi all

I am new to Ubuntu and want a small program i wrote in vb to use on a Ubuntu laptop.

I have instaled Wine but cant seem to get the clickonce .application file to run or install.

Any ideas?

Cheers!

Steve

Joeb454
February 14th, 2011, 04:28 PM
You may be able to run your application using Mono (http://www.mono-project.com/) and MonoDevelop (http://www.monodevelop.com), but there's no guarantees

directhex
February 14th, 2011, 05:09 PM
You can't use ClickOnce files, and there's no support for .NET 4.0 YET in Ubuntu (it's coming)

A .NET 3.5 app should run with Mono.

EccentricDyslexic
February 14th, 2011, 05:49 PM
Thanks for the info.

Ok so no go with the clickonce, can VS2010 publish into an .exe file and can that run on Wine?

Have downloaded monodevelop but cant seem to run my .sln files from with in that....

steve

shunan
February 14th, 2011, 06:06 PM
Mono is the way, but if you want to use wine to run the compiled exe, you have to make it executable and just double click, and pray everything goes ok!

truth is success depends on a lot of things! so be more specific...

directhex
February 14th, 2011, 08:09 PM
Ok so no go with the clickonce, can VS2010 publish into an .exe file and can that run on Wine?

No. Wine can only run Windows PE executables. VB.NET can only be compiled to a .NET assembly, which you run with Mono.

shunan
February 14th, 2011, 09:43 PM
thanks for the clarification, i guess than EccentricDyslexic can try and import the project to monodevelop and compile...

thanks again.

directhex
February 15th, 2011, 12:09 AM
thanks for the clarification, i guess than EccentricDyslexic can try and import the project to monodevelop and compile...

thanks again.

An executable (i.e. .exe file) compiled with Visual Studio.NET will run on Ubuntu. As long as it doesn't need .NET 4.0