PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Gnome-panel disappearance

jurchiks
February 7th, 2011, 06:11 PM
I've already asked about this problem here: http://superuser.com/questions/242688/gnome-panel-disappearance-in-ubuntu-10-10/242700
but unfortunately nothing has helped so far.
The problem is that today, after about a week of normal running my taskbar disappeared. Alt+F2 also doesn't work, and it is VERY inconvenient because I can't run almost any application unless I can find their executables, which is hard because I am an absolute beginner in Linux. I tried deleting gnome settings (rm -rf .gnome .gnome2 .gconf .gconfd), I tried deleting general settings (rm -rf ~/.config/), I tried reinstalling gnome-panel (sudo apt-get --purge remove gnome-panel, sudo apt-get install gnome-panel), I tried sudo apt-get install gnome-desktop, which downloaded and updated some stuff, but NOTHING helped.

Googling for hours for a fix, I found someone mentioning that it might be due to 3d hardware acceleration and I do remember yesterday installing a program that supposedly does that, BUT since Ubuntu refused to understand the nvidia driver package that I had downloaded from the official nvidia site I have no video drivers installed (not even the ones ubuntu suggested to install, because I have an extremely crappy internet connection atm, it would take me half a day to download them). In the end, the program said that it can't find supported hardware or drivers or smth like that.

The main question is - how can I get back my desktop environment? I can currently only browse my hard drives and open the web browser thanks to the desktop shortcuts I already had.
Of course, I have lots of other questions, mainly about silly/stupid/extremely annoying things, but that's for later.

cjhabs
February 7th, 2011, 06:36 PM
What happens if you run "gnome-panel" from the command line?
Does it come back, does it crash, etc?

Krytarik
February 8th, 2011, 02:37 AM