PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Totem randomly stops working



Jesse David
February 4th, 2011, 08:55 PM
I've been having problems with Totem occasionally deciding that it no longer wants to work.

When this happens whenever I try to open a video with Totem again it just quits right after I see the window popup. After this the only way to get Totem to work is to restart the computer.

I was hoping that someone might have an idea of what I could do to fix this. Preferably permanently however I'd be happy just being able to do something to make Totem work again without resetting.

Temüjin
February 4th, 2011, 11:06 PM
https://launchpad.net/~gstreamer-developers/+archive/ppa

Jesse David
February 5th, 2011, 03:34 AM
I believe I already had that PPA installed, with MediBuntu or something of the like. After adding the source and updating I still couldn't make Totem run again (VLC had problems too).

Hopefully, it fixed the problem but really only time will tell since it seems to happen on random.

Jesse David
February 11th, 2011, 04:22 AM
That fix didn't work. Just had it happen again.

No command that I can use to kill off processes that might be the problem?

I took a look at the current processes and nothing jumps out at me as being related to this issue.

Temüjin
February 11th, 2011, 05:17 AM
Install and use htop to monitor/kill processes. Other than that, I would advise you to start totem from a terminal and see if there are specific error messages.

Jesse David
February 27th, 2011, 02:14 AM
This is the message I get when it decides not to work:


The program 'totem' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)'.
(Details: serial 126 error_code 2 request_code 133 minor_code 19)
(Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)