PDA

View Full Version : Help needed > Gaining access as root in ubuntu 10.10

mind_over_matter
January 31st, 2011, 05:42 AM
Hello everyone... Im a total newbie to Ubuntu/linux 3days lol, Im loving the os from converting from a heavy windows users the performance is amazing and really like the interface and glad to have made the move... however at the moment Im still dual booting with vista which is fine but I want to learn as much as possible in linux...

Here is my problem... when trying to install VMplayer and other apps it comes up with the error --> root access is required for the operations you have chosen.

How do I get root access to install software Ive looked over the net and there is so many mixed answers and some scary lol saying to be root is dangerous etc... please please help me understand how I can can be root user to install software !!! driving me crazy and preventing me from enjoying the great os

To be clear Im using super_os_ubuntu 10.10
There is only 1 user on the machine me who is set to admin user already ? Any and all help would be greatly appreciated...

Finally any suggestions on where to find/search/learn the basics with terminal and command lines ?

pi3.1415926535...
January 31st, 2011, 05:54 AM
To use root in terminal type sudo in front of the command. Though be careful, as sudo has a greater ability to delete important files. In order to install through terminal use "sudo apt-get install package-name". Also to learn about a terminal command, man command.

bapoumba
January 31st, 2011, 06:00 AM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo :)

sffvba[e0rt
January 31st, 2011, 06:32 AM
In sudo we trust!

Rubi1200
January 31st, 2011, 06:35 AM
To be honest. of this is all new to you then start first installing from the Ubuntu Software Center.

When it asks for authentication, type in the password you set when installing.

Ctrl-Alt-F1
January 31st, 2011, 07:08 AM