PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] nm-applet problems (mem leak, behavior, icon etc.)



argued.logic
January 20th, 2011, 12:38 PM
Ubuntu 10.10 with latest updates
manually added ppa:s such as awn-trunk etc

Acer Notebook (i3 370m, ATI 5470mhd, 3Gb RAM etc)
Internet con. through Nokia 5630 HSDPA - usb

I ve noticed the network-manager starting having problems 4-5 days ago when
I logged in for a usual session having my comp connected to 40#LCD @ 1080p.
The icon theme (have Faenza Dark as standard) was reverted to gnome standard
and a new volume icon/controller started in the notification area. So I searched for
any info I could find and that brought me to nm-applet mem leak info and bugg-
reports. I logged out from the session and once I logged in all was well. You would
think so right :?

So here is the problem I have.

1: nm-applet --sm-disable starts at loggin BUT after 6-7h is non-responsive
eating up massive 250+ Mb of RAM
2: nm-applet lacks the indicators of signal-strength as it used to have
3: nm-applet is a part of indicator-applet 0.4.6 (used to be separated in Notification Area 2.30.2)
* see first 2 attached images

killall nm-applet works as expected

~$ ps -ef | grep nm-applet
root 5229 5164 0 12:02 pts/0 00:00:03 nm-applet --sm-disable

sudo nm-applet --sm-disable in terminal starts new nm-applet
as it should in notification area with some messages

(nm-applet:5229): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(nm-applet:5229): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_connect_data: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed

* see last 2 attached images

Now, this way it stays connected and responsive as far as I see forever
without the mem-leak issue but as soon as I logout the session its all
back to the state 1.
What can I do about this?
I am currently looking at different wm:s and options but I do like my
gnome the way it is and would like to see a solution to the problem instead of running away from it.

btw the NetworkManager Applet is v. 0.8.3 and I have tried to disable it
from the startup applications but it re-enabled it self.

argued.logic
January 21st, 2011, 01:20 PM
Bumping up my thread with additional info...
My only solution so far to my issue is removing following
*Indicator Applet
*Indicator Applet Session
and only keeping Notification area since nm-applet starts and keeps it self
active for 7-8h+ (consuming around 50-60mb RAM) is somewhat a step
forward. Any ideas or help greatly appreciated.

grahammechanical
January 21st, 2011, 02:19 PM
I do not think that this is a network issue but a Desktop environment issue. Last year I had something weird happening to my desktop. Sometimes on boot up the icons would be different and I would need to re-select my chosen theme.

When did you last re-install and format the disc? I think that overtime and with the changes (improvements) that come with each upgrade, you get a collection of configuration files that sometimes cause conflicts.

Last October I re-installed and formatted the Ubuntu partition and the home partition. Now I have enhanced appearance effects. That was something else that I had a problem with.

I have decided that a clean sweep from time to time is useful. Do not forget to backup everything you want to keep.

Regards.

Endracion
January 21st, 2011, 04:12 PM
Just thought I'd add that I have the exact same problem and I also happen to use the same theme. No direct solution yet though.

argued.logic
January 21st, 2011, 04:25 PM
I do not think that this is a network issue but a Desktop environment issue. Last year I had something weird happening to my desktop. Sometimes on boot up the icons would be different and I would need to re-select my chosen theme.

When did you last re-install and format the disc? I think that overtime and with the changes (improvements) that come with each upgrade, you get a collection of configuration files that sometimes cause conflicts.

Last October I re-installed and formatted the Ubuntu partition and the home partition. Now I have enhanced appearance effects. That was something else that I had a problem with.

I have decided that a clean sweep from time to time is useful. Do not forget to backup everything you want to keep.

Regards.

This is fairly new set-up since december and fresh install of 10.10 so those issues I ve been
reading about people having from up-grading couldn't be the case here. One another thing
that comes back in my thoughts is that having this comp running for 2 users (1 with hdmi out-put and another purely native resolution) this problem doesnt seem to involve the later.
I do have the option of re-install and even try another wm as I mentioned, but being the tech-oriented guy I am, I still prefer finding a solution. Thanks for sharing your experience tho.



Just thought I'd add that I have the exact same problem and I also happen to use the same theme. No direct solution yet though.

I would think this is an issue effecting a lot of us and there are plenty of bug-reports out there so lets just hope for a "quick-fix" even tho there s no such thing as quick-fix :shock:

beruic
January 21st, 2011, 06:17 PM
Have you submitted to this bug?
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/network-manager-applet/+bug/684599

beruic
January 21st, 2011, 06:31 PM
Quick fix: install indicator-network, and disable nm-applet. Works for me, but indicator-network is not as user friendly and feature rich as nm-applet.

beruic
January 21st, 2011, 07:42 PM
Read the bug btw. There's more info.

argued.logic
January 21st, 2011, 08:12 PM
Read the bug btw. There's more info.

Thank you for your reply.
That is the main bug-report I ve been reading and with your additional info
from today I have one question. My network-manager-gnome is in deed the
one from ppa:elementaryart... 0.8.2+git.20101123t161608.f143e76-0ubuntu1
so what I am asking is how did you downgraded to the default one?
Will I be able to do the same considering I only have access to one network
connection and I presume some packages will be needed to download after the
process of removing the 0.8.2+git version takes place?

Never mind that - I ve found my way but for those who wonder...
Open up Synaptic Package Manager and look for network-manager-gnome
If you want to downgrade it to default 0.8.1+git.20100809t190028.290dc70-0ubuntu3
the mark the 0.8.2 version then choose Package and Force Version... from the menu.
Once there select the 0.8.1 version and hit apply...

I ll be monitoring this and see what it does on my comp. Thanks again Beruic!

beruic
January 21st, 2011, 10:01 PM
Sounds good. Throw updates at the bug from now on if they are relevant :)

argued.logic
January 21st, 2011, 10:14 PM
Sounds good. Throw updates at the bug from now on if they are relevant :)
Yes thank you.
After one hour things are looking as they should even tho I ve had one crash of the NetworkManager Applet, it sits steady at 7.5Mb usage. *fingers crossed*

beruic
January 21st, 2011, 10:25 PM
Mine is at 5 now and has been for some time. Do you have many networks near you? I have 14 besides my own.

argued.logic
January 21st, 2011, 11:01 PM
Mine is at 5 now and has been for some time. Do you have many networks near you? I have 14 besides my own.
All between 8-12 depending of the time of the day. Do you think that effects nm-applet as well?

argued.logic
January 23rd, 2011, 01:18 PM
All seems to be well here, nm-applet stable @ 4-5 mb after 11-12h use.

draki
February 4th, 2011, 01:00 AM
Thank you for your reply.
That is the main bug-report I ve been reading and with your additional info
from today I have one question. My network-manager-gnome is in deed the
one from ppa:elementaryart... 0.8.2+git.20101123t161608.f143e76-0ubuntu1
so what I am asking is how did you downgraded to the default one?
Will I be able to do the same considering I only have access to one network
connection and I presume some packages will be needed to download after the
process of removing the 0.8.2+git version takes place?

Never mind that - I ve found my way but for those who wonder...
Open up Synaptic Package Manager and look for network-manager-gnome
If you want to downgrade it to default 0.8.1+git.20100809t190028.290dc70-0ubuntu3
the mark the 0.8.2 version then choose Package and Force Version... from the menu.
Once there select the 0.8.1 version and hit apply...

I ll be monitoring this and see what it does on my comp. Thanks again Beruic!

Thanks - that seems to have worked for me too

argued.logic
February 8th, 2011, 02:19 PM
Thanks - that seems to have worked for me too

:cool: cheers