PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] UEC Setup Problems



ashishrevar
January 20th, 2011, 08:10 AM
Hello there,
I am working with two machines to implement cloud using UEC 10.10.
I've installed the UBUNTU server and CC,CLC,SC,Walrus on one machine and on another machine I've installed NC.
But at the time of installation I've avoided to add proxy settings. At this moment I am not able to perform UEC image operations because I can't access the outside world.

How to setup the proxy settings now?

I need to run an PHP application on this cloud, so am I going on a right path or not?
Is there any extra package do I need to install or configure for the same PHP purpose?

Please reply me fast as I am working on the deadline to submit my project in institute.

Ashish
ashishrevar@gmail.com

ashishrevar
January 20th, 2011, 08:22 AM
I want to know that is it possible to get an GUI based screen for this UEC setup .
I am getting totally command line console which is not suitable for work.

I read the blog of Dustin Kirkland who is a Core Developer of the Ubuntu Server (https://launchpad.net/%7Ekirkland) for Canonical (http://www.canonical.com/), whose post shows that we can get GUI for the same.

http://blog.dustinkirkland.com/2010/06/cloud-in-your-pocket-uec-liveiso.html


(http://blog.dustinkirkland.com/2010/06/cloud-in-your-pocket-uec-liveiso.html)

kim0
January 21st, 2011, 01:10 AM
Regarding network connectivity, can you please try executing the 2 following commands on the CLC/CC node

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

I am assuming eth0, is the "outer" interface connecting to the internet. if it's not, change the name to the appropriate one. No need for gui on the NC nodes (really). You can try a tool like elastic-fox to manage your cloud. But I prefer you get it working with command line tools first

ashishrevar
January 21st, 2011, 05:31 AM
The first command is working but the second one is producing error.
It shows

-bash: /proc/net/ipv4/ip_forward: No such file or directory.

After checking of directory structure, I found out that there is no such directory ipv4.
All the directories are related to ipv6, waht to do?

Where can I enter my proxy address (my institute's https://10.1.19.27:4100)?

ashishrevar
January 21st, 2011, 06:26 AM
Can you please describe these two commands?
How they will solve the networking problem?

If I run the command
euca-describe-availability-zones verbose

it shows the default configuration for the two machines, but free/max column remains the zero.
Is it showing such zeroes because there is some network error or what?

kim0
January 21st, 2011, 10:12 AM
If both free/max are zeros, that means the node controllers have not registered correctly. Thus the cloud cannot run any VMs. Can you try following those installation instructions closely

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEC/CDInstall

For accessing the internet, try this
sudo sh -c 'echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward'

It's /proc/sys, don't drop the sys

ashishrevar
January 22nd, 2011, 06:59 AM
Thanks for your support.
Now these two command are working, but still facing the same problem.
I am not able to load images(Can't access outside world) as well as now my server shows all zeros in the field of free/max when I discover the nodes with verbose option.

Any solution for this?

kim0
January 22nd, 2011, 08:50 PM
hmm not sure, I suggest posting full details (machines, network, IPs...) to the ubuntu-cloud mailing list

https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/Ubuntu-cloud

ashishrevar
January 25th, 2011, 04:29 PM
Hello there, I've configured UEC in single system, using the post from
http://kiranmurari.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/uec-cc-nc-single-machine/

Everything works fine, I've uploaded two images which is visible through euca-describe-images.

But to run them I need to create keypairs, this is where I got the problem.

if [ ! -e ~/.euca/mykey.priv ]; then
touch ~/.euca/mykey.priv
chmod 0600 ~/.euca/mykey.priv
euca-add-keypair mykey > ~/.euca/mykey.priv
fi

this command is executed successfully but I am not able to find my keypairs to run instances.
How to set keypairs?

kim0
January 26th, 2011, 11:41 PM
Just use "euca-run-instance -k mykey ...."

mykey is now on the server, it will insert the public key for you inside the image

ashishrevar
January 27th, 2011, 05:29 AM
Hi Kim,

I've used the same commands which does not return any error, but if do like below....
euca-describe-keypairs

then returns empty. If I do with euca-run-instances -k mykey then error shows that there is no mykey.

What to do?

kim0
February 2nd, 2011, 12:54 PM
Hi,

I think you need to do the following

if [ ! -e ~/.euca/mykey.priv ]; then
mkdir -p -m 700 ~/.euca
touch ~/.euca/mykey.priv
chmod 0600 ~/.euca/mykey.priv
euca-add-keypair mykey > ~/.euca/mykey.priv
fi


For more info, read step-7 on https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEC/CDInstall

raymdt
February 4th, 2011, 05:38 PM
Hey,
this is a funny story :lolflag:.
your key( mykey.priv ) should be stored in the "/home/<youruser>/.euca" directory.
Change into that directory and post the result of


cat mykey.priv

Here

I guess that, the command euca-add-keypair mykey > ~/.euca/mykey.priv was not successful ( even if you didn't get some error message)

the file mykey.priv file should contain something like



---- BEGIN SSH2 PUBLIC KEY ----.
AAAAB3NzaC1kc3MAAACBAPY8ZOHY2yFSJA6XYC9HRwNHxaehvx 5wOJ0rzZdzoSOXxbET
W6ToHv8D1UJ/z+zHo9Fiko5XybZnDIaBDHtblQ+Yp7StxyltHnXF1YLfKD1G4T 6JYrdH
YI14Om1eg9e4NnCRleaqoZPF3UGfZia6bXrGTQf3gJq2e7Yisk/gF+1VAAAAFQDb8D5c
vwHWTZDPfX0D2s9Rd7NBvQAAAIEAlN92+Bb7D4KLYk3IwRbXbl wXdkPggA4pfdtW9vGf
J0/RHd+NjB4eo1D+0dix6tXwYGN7PKS5R/FXPNwxHPapcj9uL1Jn2AWQ2dsknf+i/FAA
vioUPkmdMc0zuWoSOEsSNhVDtX3WdvVcGcBq9cetzrtOKWOocJ mJ80qadxTRHtUAAACB
AN7CY+KKv1gHpRzFwdQm7HK9bb1LAo2KwaoXnadFgeptNBQeSX G1vO+JsvphVMBJc9HS
n24VYtYtsMu74qXviYjziVucWKjjKEb11juqnF0GDlB3VVmxHL mxnAz643WK42Z7dLM5
sY29ouezv4Xz2PuMch5VGPP+CDqzCM4loWgV
---- END SSH2 PUBLIC KEY ----

ashishrevar
February 16th, 2011, 07:41 AM
Hello there,

I am dealing with an unexpected error in my web console.
https://10.1.3.34:8443/ is the address of my laptop in which I've installed the cloud, but I am not able to open my web console. It prompts the error like below.

Security Error

Invalid Server Certificate
A request failed because the server's certificate was invalid.


What's the problem here?

ashishrevar
February 17th, 2011, 07:39 AM
Hello there,
I am facing another problem in my implementation.
After the installation, when I shutdown my laptop and then I start it again, but I am getting error of EC2 Access key.

I executed command, euca-describe-availability-zone verbose...
but it prompts the error,
EC2_ACCESS_KEY muse set....
what's wrong with it?

kim0
February 17th, 2011, 10:54 AM
Did you forget to source ~/.euca/eucarc ? You need to source this in every new shell you want to use to control your cloud

ashishrevar
February 17th, 2011, 11:01 AM
Hi Kim0,
I am following those steps, but not working.
I have sourced that thing....~/.euca/eucarc

But not working at all.
what's d problem?

raymdt
February 18th, 2011, 09:05 PM
How did you souce ~/.euca/eucarc ??

Please check the ~/.euca directory and the ~/.euca/eucarc file exist.

Try this to source the eucarc file.


$ . ~/.euca/eucarc


Don't forget the " . "

ashishrevar
February 28th, 2011, 04:59 AM
Thanks raymdt, it works.

But at this point I am not able to get Images from the internet.

My web console is showing several images which I am not able to download, as well as I am not able to get Extras menu.
The error is shown like below.

Eucalyptus-certified Images
Failed to load the list of images (visit the repository)
Eucalyptus-compatible Tools
Failed to load the list of images (visit the repository)

Does it mean any kind of network problem?
If I do,
$ sudo euca_conf --no-rsync --discover-nodes

then it list out several errors,
ssh: could not resolve hostname fe80: Name or service not known
lost connection
failed.

If I try to do,
$ sudo apt-get update

then it prompts error,
connection failed.
several other tons of error code...

What's wrong with this?

kim0
March 1st, 2011, 09:54 AM
hostname fe80, strikes me as something related to ip6, which I don't know what it's trying to do! If you get stuck, reinstall and try the mailing list