PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Users, Groups, Chown, Confused?!

DanHorniblow
January 18th, 2011, 01:14 AM
I have been using ubuntu server for a few months now, but I still don't fully understand how to set permissions.

My server is running Apache with a web root within my home directory.

There is a PHP file manager installed, how do I give both my user, and the www-data user full permisions to read and write?

I currently have to chown my user to that directory whenever I want to make a change, then chown it back to www-data when I am finished so the file manager has write permissions.

endotherm
January 18th, 2011, 01:22 AM
it sounds like adding yourself to the www-data group would be the easiest way to access the data after it is posted. I would probably also look into using setgid or setuid on the web root folder to force all files created within that folder to take on the group or user id of the web root. check to make sure the effect on executables is what you want though.
http://linuxmall.blogspot.com/2009/08/how-to-setuid-setgid-and-sticky-bit.html

that way, all files you create in the web root, (even as your normal user) will be "reowned" by the folder to <youruser>:www-data in the case of setGID, or www-data:www-data if you use both setGID and setUID. you will have to rely on the group permission however to control your access in the later case, so as pipemartinm said, chmoding the dir to 775 would be required in this case. if you just use setGID, you could use 755 instead as long as www-data does not require write access to the files (it shouldn't).

pipemartinm
January 18th, 2011, 01:23 AM
If you need for your normal user to be able to edit the directory you can add it to the www-data group
/usr/sbin/usermod -a -G www-data user and then change the directory to be writable by the owner and the group
chmod 775 /var/www/html/directory -RThe far easier solution however is to just use sudo before any commands you run as user so that they run as root.