PDA

View Full Version : Do you do IT work on the side?

Roasted
January 14th, 2011, 03:33 PM
If so, how do you advertise it? I've been doing it on the side for home users for the last 3-4 months, and it's been really slow. I wish it would pick up. I've built a web site using wordpress and gotten it hosted with a domain, which has all of the services I can do on there and a LOT of reference points, since a lot of users aren't sure what exactly java is or how flash interacts with your computer, as well as a free/OSS section for alternative software for users, such as Gimp, OpenOffice, etc.

I've also made postings and printed them out and posted them in every laundry and grocery store in the area. My next thought is to get a custom bumper sticker made, just because... well why not?

I thought about business cards but I find I don't frequently "run into" people where business cards are handy, but that's something I've definitely thought about to just keep on hand. Then again, it's easy enough to reference the web site I made since it has my number on it, email, etc.

I've posted on Craigslist but I've gotten flagged on there as spam. My buddy had seen the same thing, and the common idea was that people are trying to eliminate competition so they're flagging it accordingly.

I've also thought about posting in the newspaper or the local advertiser. The local advertiser costs 20 bucks a week to post in it, so I thought about posting it one week a month for a while and see how it goes.

Aside from that, the BEST way people have heard about me is word of mouth. I've only gotten ONE call from the posting in grocery stores and whatnot. It's a little frustrating, because I am trying to work as much as possible to make up some cash for bills and it feels like I'm fishing with no bait.

Is there any other ideas I'm missing that may help?

VastOne
January 14th, 2011, 06:23 PM