PDA

View Full Version : C++, GUI's and Linux

Ravenshade
January 12th, 2011, 01:20 PM
Hi there,

I'm a newbie to C++ so I've skirted the shallow end, headed to the diving boards...climbed all the way to the top one and I'm about to jump. Knowing me I'll sink and I won't be coming up for a while. :popcorn:

Still... I've found some reasonable stuff that I want to get on with. I want to have a go at developing a GUI and I've found two things that I should probably install. OpenGL and SDL (So I have both 3D and 2D capabilities...yes it's game development, but nothing complex).

Strange thing is though...with the repositories and all I'm not exactly sure 'which' to install, they all have so many different names and versions that I'm a little er... confuzzled. :confused:

Can anyone point me to the correct items I need to install so that I have decent if not simple libraries to use for creating an interface?

Oh and before anyone tries pointing me to an IDE... I hate them all. Code::lite or is it code blocks...not sure. Both of them hate me. Netbeans is the only one I can get to work, but that only works for Java (won't even look at cpp files) so stuck there. On the other hand...I'm quite useful for g++, the terminal and my trusty gedit program.

Joeb454
January 12th, 2011, 01:27 PM
Thread moved to Programming Talk.

Ravenshade
January 12th, 2011, 01:29 PM
Uh...I was actually asking about what programs to get not...chat about the programming itself. But no matter, hopefully this place is just as good.

dwhitney67
January 12th, 2011, 05:39 PM
See if the info in this post is helpful...
http://www.gamedev.net/topic/575297-installing-opengl-and-sdl-for-ubuntu-linux/

nvteighen
January 12th, 2011, 06:26 PM
Hm... for SDL, install libsdl-dev. It's a virtual package that will grab the development files for SDL. Similarly for OpenGL, install libgl-dev.

Ravenshade
January 12th, 2011, 06:27 PM