PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] the mysterious postgres user

psvr
January 12th, 2011, 04:41 AM
Hello everybody. This is my first time posting my question on ubuntu forum. My problem is that after I have apt-get'ed postgresql and followed the following guide

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PostgreSQL

to set my initial database system by disguising my self as user `postgres`, I don't know what kind of role is the user `postgres` playing. First of all , I don't know the unix password of the user `postgres`. It seems like that postgresql has its own password system and does not rely on the unix password of the user `postgres`. Nor can I reset the password of `postgres` because I don't know the current password:

sudo -u postgres passwd
Changing password for postgres.
(current) UNIX password:
passwd: Authentication token manipulation error
passwd: password unchanged

It seems like that `postgres` user is created during apt-get process. So what kind of role is this `postgres` user playing? :confused:

Thank you very much for your reply!

SeijiSensei
January 13th, 2011, 06:40 AM
The "postgres" user is the equivalent to root in the PostgreSQL authentication system. At the Unix system level, the postgres user owns all the Postgres files under /var/lib/postgresql. Within PostgreSQL, the postgres user can perform SQL operations on any database regardless of ownership.

I use sudo and su to become the postgres user in order to create PostgreSQL users with the "createuser" command like this:

sudo su -c "createuser username" postgres

This runs the createuser command as the shell user postgres to create a PostgreSQL account for user "username". In response to the questions the createuser script asks, I choose not to make ordinary users PostgreSQL superusers, I do allow them to create databases, but I don't allow them to create new roles.