PDA

View Full Version : [other] Is Ubuntu Server good OS ?

West701
January 11th, 2011, 12:48 PM
I've been using Ubuntu Desktop for several months now, and I've been very happy with it. However I just purchased an HP server that came with Windows 2008. I want to use the server to host my website.

Is Ubuntu Server a good choice for someone thats never setup a server ? Is Ubuntu Server a good choice compared to other linux Distros ? What are some of the benefits and cons of using a Linux Server vs Windows ? Any advice is really appreciated :)

Grenage
January 11th, 2011, 12:56 PM
Normally, the software that you want to run on it.

We use Linux servers, but it's not always an option; both have distinct merits.

sj1410
January 11th, 2011, 01:33 PM
Yes Ubuntu Server is a good choice but depends on for what application you would like to use it.

James78
January 11th, 2011, 02:09 PM
You're probably also asking is it good in terms of security, speed, easyness... All of the above. :) I've been using it for 6 months now, and haven't had a single problem that had anything to do with Ubuntu Server itself being bad. :D It's a fine choice, and since you know fairly well how Ubuntu/Debian/Linux works, it's a good transition to Ubuntu Server vs Red Hat for example, even if it's command line only. You shan't regret it.

Benefits and cons against Windows, well.. I can't even think of 1 benefit for Windows honestly, we all know that Linux is much better for running servers on hands down.

HermanAB
January 11th, 2011, 04:11 PM
There are bazillions of websites running on Linux, more than any other OS. So yes, Linux is good for what you want to do.

However, if you want a GUI to make your life easier, use ordinary Ubuntu and if you want wizards for everything as in Windows, use OpenSuse.

cabaro
January 11th, 2011, 07:02 PM
I am sysadmining about 20 ubuntu servers virtualized atop xen.
Easy administration, i can tell you.

Most running tomcat6, postgres, apache2 websites.